Winners of the Canadian Construction Association Awards 2023

Home » Knowledge » Winners of the Canadian Construction Association Awards 2023

The Canadian Construction Association’s annual conference took place in March in Tucson, Arizona.

As usual, an award ceremony took place in which individuals and organizations were presented with awards for their contributions and achievements.

The Canadian Construction Association awards are about recognizing the people, organizations, and projects that have helped to enhance the construction industry in Canada.

Awards were handed out in several categories. So, let us take a look at this year’s winners.

2024 Nominations

Before we look at this year’s winners, it is worth mentioning that if you are a member of the Canadian Construction Association, you have the opportunity to nominate for next year’s awards. You could even be nominated yourself.

Nominations open in September. Check the Canadian Construction Association’s website in September for details on how to apply.

And if you are not a member, you could qualify for other construction industry awards.

You could even hold award ceremonies within your own company to recognize your highest achievers in different categories.

At Able Recognition, you will find various awards in different styles that are ideal for presenting to deserving employees.

Gold Seal Award of Excellence Winner: Jancon Construction Ltd.

Jancon Construction Ltd. has helped high-achieving clients in the greater Toronto area to realize their construction goals for over twenty years, via technology, innovation, and solid project management.

At the 2023 Canadian Construction Association awards ceremony, the company won the Gold Seal Award of Excellence.

The award recognizes the company’s excellence in construction management and incorporating the Gold Seal program into its business practices.

Community Leader Award Winner: Russell Grass Sr.

Russell Grass Sr. has an extensive background in the construction industry. He is well known for his technical expertise and often acts as a consultant on design concepts and real-world constructability for architecture and engineering companies in the Ottawa area.

At this year’s Canadian Construction Association awards, Russell Grass Sr. and Norland Limited were awarded the Community Leader Award, which recognizes people and organizations that have devoted their effort and time to better communities.

National Safety Award Winner: Norland Limited

Norland Limited was also given the National Safety Award.

The award recognizes exceptional achievement and commitment to pursuing safety in the construction industry via staff training, program development, and safe workplace record achievements.

Partner Association Award Winner: Association de la Construction du Québec

Association de la Construction du Québec, which represents around 17,000 contractors in the industrial and institutional-commercial sectors, won the Partner Association Award at this year’s Canadian Construction Association award ceremony.

The award was created in memory of Jake Thygesen, who was the Chairman of the Canadian Construction Association. It recognizes partner associations that have demonstrated exceptional leadership in education, member recruitment, and industry enhancement via things like lobbying.

Environmental Achievement Award Winner: Ledcor Highway Maintenance

Ledcor’s Highway Maintenance company provides unparalleled highway and highway-related repairs and maintenance to the province of Alberta.

The company scooped the Environmental Achievement Award, which was created back in 1991 to recognize CCA member firms and associations that lead the way in promoting and undertaking exemplary environmental conduct within Canada’s construction industry.

Workforce Excellence Award Winner: Marco Group

Marco Group is the largest Atlantic Canadian-based general contractor.

At this year’s award ceremony, Marco Group was presented with the Workforce Excellence Award.

The award was created in 2019 to recognize those who champion inclusion and diversity within the construction industry and demonstrate results.

Excellence in Innovation Award Winner: Coffrages Synergy Formwork

Coffrages Synergy Formwork, which provides concrete formwork services, was the winner of the Excellence in Innovation Award this year.

The award recognizes innovative construction practices that have been used in Canada for the first time.

Young Leader Award Winner: Victoria Stanhope

Victoria Stanhope received the first-ever CCA Young Leader Award.

While she may not fit the traditional mold of a construction expert, she has actually dedicated her career to the development of the industry.

Besides being the President of Stanhope Simpson Insurance, since 2016, Stanhope has served on the CANS Board of Directors. In fact, she is only the second female to serve as chair on the board in its entire history, which spans 160 years.

Stanhope very much deserved to win the CCA Young Leader Award, which recognizes people under the age of forty who are employed by a CCA member company, who have demonstrated growth, improvement, and strong leadership skills.