الصفحة الرئيسية أكبر المشاريعمحطة كافو جورج السفلى للطاقة الكهرومائية ، ثالث أكبر محطة من نوعها في ...

محطة كافو جورج السفلى للطاقة الكهرومائية ، ثالث أكبر محطة من نوعها في زامبيا

من المتوقع أن يتم تشغيل الوحدة الخامسة أو بالأحرى آخر وحدة توليد في محطة كهرباء كافو جورج السفلى في نوفمبر من هذا العام. هذا وفقًا لفيكتور ماباني ، العضو المنتدب في شركة تزويد الكهرباء الزامبية (زيسكو) المحدودة.

جاء ذلك خلال إعلان شركة زيسكو عن تحقيق السيد ماباني فائضاً في توليد الكهرباء بنحو 1,156،150 ميغاواط. وفقًا للمؤسسة التي تديرها الدولة ، أدى تشغيل وحدات المولدات ذات السعة 3 × 456.8 ميغاواط في محطة الطاقة المنخفضة في كافو جورج إلى زيادة توليد الطاقة. وأوضحت زيسكو أن طاقة التوليد الوطنية تبلغ حاليًا 2,300 ميجاوات مقابل ذروة الطلب الوطني البالغ XNUMX ميجاوات.

امكانية تداول الفائض 
البحث عن يؤدي البناء
  • بلد المنطقة

  • قطاع

وفي حديثه خلال حلقة نقاش رفيعة المستوى في الاجتماع الجاري لاتحاد مرافق الطاقة في داكار ، السنغال ، قال ماباني إن البلاد يمكن أن تتاجر في فائض الكهرباء ضمن شبكة الطاقة المترابطة في منطقة الجنوب الأفريقي.

اقرأ أيضا: خطط لبناء أول محطات طاقة شمسية وطاقة الرياح في مناجم النحاس الكمومية في زامبيا

وفقًا للمدير العام لشركة ZESCO ، فإن توفر الكهرباء الموثوق بها كان بمثابة أساس الانتعاش الحالي لاقتصاد البلاد. وكشف عن أن مرفق الطاقة يتولى إنشاء خطوط نقل لضمان بقائها في قلب تجارة الطاقة في المنطقة.

نظرة عامة على مشروع محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية السفلى في كافو جورج

تم بناء محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية السفلى في كافو جورج على نهر كافو. يقع الأخير في منطقة Chikankata الجنوبية ، على بعد حوالي 90 كم من العاصمة لوساكا في زامبيا. تعتبر محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية 750 ميجاوات ثالث أكبر محطة للطاقة الكهرومائية في البلاد. إنه أول استثمار رئيسي في زامبيا يتم تمويله من خلال نموذج الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص (PPP).

يتضمن مشروع الطاقة الكهرومائية بناء سد صخري بواجهة خرسانية بارتفاع 139 مترًا. يبلغ عرض قمة السد ما بين 8 أمتار و 10 أمتار ويبلغ طوله حوالي 378 متراً. سيكون هناك أيضًا بناء محطة طاقة سطحية. يبلغ عرض الأخير 44.5 مترًا ، وارتفاعه 58 مترًا ، وطوله 127 مترًا. سوف تستوعب خمس وحدات مولد 150 ميجاوات.

من المتوقع أن يكون لمحطة الطاقة الكهرومائية السفلى في كافو جورج قناة مخرج بيئية ومجرى تصريف على الضفة اليسرى. يبلغ عرضه الإجمالي 64 مترًا وقدرة تفريغ قصوى تبلغ 6,210،1,018 متر مكعب / ثانية. من المتوقع أن يحتوي الضفة اليمنى على نفق تحرير فيضان بسعة قصوى تبلغ 4.4 متر مكعب / ثانية ونفق طاقة بطول 400 كيلومتر. علاوة على ذلك ، من المتوقع أن يكون للسد باب فيضان بخمسة أقواس طولها 980 متر. من المتوقع أيضًا أن يشتمل الضفة اليسرى على نفق تحويل بطول 10 مترًا مع مقطع عرضي لحذاء الحصان يبلغ 14 م × XNUMX م.

البنية التحتية للنقل والتوقعات والتمويل للمشروع 

ستشمل البنية التحتية لنقل الطاقة في محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية ساحة تبديل 300 فولت. من المتوقع أن توفر ساحة التبديل خطي نقل صادر إلى محطة فرعية جديدة وقائمة 330/132 كيلو فولت. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من المتوقع أن توفر ساحة التبديل رابطًا قصيرًا واحدًا لمحطة طاقة KGU الحالية وخمس فتحات تغذية واردة.

عند الانتهاء ، من المتوقع أن تزيد محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية السفلى في كافو جورج من إمدادات الطاقة في زامبيا بنسبة 38 ٪. وبحسب ما ورد ، فإن الطاقة التي تولدها المنشأة كافية لتلبية الطلب على الكهرباء في جنوب إفريقيا خلال السنوات الخمس إلى العشر القادمة. بصرف النظر عن زيادة إنتاج الكهرباء ، من المتوقع أيضًا أن يوفر المشروع فرص عمل ، ويعزز تطوير البنية التحتية. علاوة على ذلك ، ستبني محطة توليد الطاقة وموقع التفريغ لمشروع طريق تشيكانكاتا.

يتم تمويل المشروع الذي تبلغ قيمته ملياري دولار أمريكي من قبل حكومة زامبيا والمؤسسات المالية الأجنبية مثل بنك إكسيم الصيني.

اقرأ أيضًا: الجدول الزمني لمشروع مامبيلا للطاقة الكهرومائية وكل ما تحتاج إلى معرفته

الجدول الزمني للمشروع

2015

في أكتوبر ، تم منح عقد الهندسة والمشتريات والبناء (EPC) للمشروع. فازت شركة Sinohydro ، وهي شركة صينية ، بالعقد الذي بدأ بعد ذلك البناء.

يناير 2018

منح بويري مهمة تقييم الأثر البيئي لمشروع الطاقة الكهرمائية في كافو جورج في زامبيا ، إفريقيا

منحت شركة Zesco Pöyry مهمة تقييم الأثر البيئي لمشروع الطاقة الكهرمائية (HPL) في Kafue Gorge Lower (KGP) في زامبيا.

يعد مشروع الطاقة الكهرومائية السفلي في كافو جورج بقدرة 750 ميجاوات جزءًا من الحل طويل الأجل لمعالجة الفجوة المتزايدة بين الطلب على الطاقة والعرض في زامبيا. يرتبط المشروع ارتباطًا وثيقًا بخطط تطوير الكهرباء لتعزيز الطاقة المتجددة في زامبيا. يقع المشروع في جنوب زامبيا على نهر كافو ، رافد رئيسي لنهر زامبيزي وحوالي 60 كم جنوب العاصمة لوساكا.

يغطي نطاق المهمة إجراء دراسة تقييم الأثر البيئي والاجتماعي (ESIA) لمناطق المصب في موقع KGL HPP ؛ دمج نتائج الدراسة النهائية في KGL HPP EISA كملحق ، وتحديث خطة الإدارة البيئية والاجتماعية (ESMP) لـ KGL HPP ، ومراجعة وتحديث خطوط النقل ESIA وإعادة التوطين وخطة عمل التعويض (RCAP) إلى مستوى مقبول.

"إن تقديم مشاريع طاقة نظيفة ومتجددة مثل هذا يمكن أن يساعد النمو الاقتصادي والتقدم الاجتماعي ويساعد في التخفيف من حدة الفقر في البلدان النامية. يعزز هذا المشروع مكانة Pöyry كواحدة من الشركات الاستشارية الرائدة في مجال هندسة الطاقة الكهرومائية في العالم "كما يقول ريتشارد بينوك ، رئيس مجموعة Pöyry's Energy Business Group.

اقرأ أيضًا: Pöyry Global خرائط لمشروع صغير للمياه المائية في غرب إفريقيا

لم يتم الكشف عن قيمة الطلب. تم التعرف على الطلب في مخزون أوامر Energy Business Group في H2 2017.

حول بويري

Pöyry هي شركة استشارات وهندسة دولية تقدم حلولًا ذكية عبر توليد الطاقة ونقلها وتوزيعها وصناعة الغابات والمواد الكيميائية والتكرير الحيوي والتعدين والمعادن والنقل والمياه. بلغ صافي مبيعات Pöyry في عام 2016 ما قيمته 530 مليون يورو. يتم تداول أسهم الشركة في بورصة ناسداك هلسنكي (POY1V). تقريبًا ، لدى Poyry 5500 خبير. 40 دولة. 130 مكتب.

2019

توقف بناء محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية بتكلفة ملياري دولار أمريكي. كان هذا بسبب الصعوبات المالية.

يناير 2019

محطة كافي جورج خانق للطاقة الكهرومائية على وشك الانتهاء

مشروع الطاقة الكهربائية باتوكا جورج في زامبيا يبدأ هذا العام

سيكتمل قريبًا بناء محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية السفلى في كافو جورج بتكلفة ملياري دولار أمريكي في جنوب زامبيا. جاء ذلك وفقًا لوزير الطاقة ماثيو نخوا.

بدأ المشروع الذي تبلغ تكلفته مليار دولار في عام 2015. ويتم تمويله من قبل الحكومة الزامبية والمؤسسات المالية الأجنبية مثل بنك إكسيم الصيني، ويجري بناؤها من قبل شركة سينوهيدرو الصينية.

اقرأ أيضًا: زامبيا وزيمبابوي توقعان صفقة بقيمة 5bn دولار أمريكي لمشروع الطاقة الكهرومائية في باتوكا جورج

محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية السفلى في كافو جورج

عبر وزير الطاقة عن رضاه عن جودة العمل الذي يقوم به المقاولون. وقال إن 60٪ من العمل مكتمل ووقت تسليم المقاولين الصينيين منافس.

كما أعرب السيد Nkhuwa عن ارتياحه للتكنولوجيا الحديثة المطبقة على الإنشاءات ، مضيفًا أن استكمال محطة الطاقة سيقطع شوطًا طويلًا في مساعدة البلاد على أن تصبح مركزًا للكهرباء في منطقة الجنوب الأفريقي.

عند الانتهاء من الإعداد في 2020 ، من المقدر أن تنتج محطة توليد الطاقة الكهرومائية في Kafue Gorge طاقة 750MW ومن المتوقع أن تزيد إمدادات الطاقة في زامبيا بنسبة 38 ، وهو ما يكفي لتلبية الطلب على الكهرباء في البلاد من أجل 5 التالي إلى سنوات 10.

بصرف النظر عن زيادة إنتاج الكهرباء في البلاد ، يتمتع المشروع أيضًا بالعديد من المزايا الأخرى ، بما في ذلك توفير فرص العمل ، وإنشاء البنية التحتية ، وموقع توليد الطاقة ومدفن لمشروع طريق تشيكانكاتا.

تواجه زامبيا ، مثلها مثل العديد من البلدان الأفريقية الأخرى ، نقصًا حادًا في الطاقة ، حيث لا يحصل سوى 25٪ من سكان الحضر و 3٪ من سكان الريف على الكهرباء. على الرغم من وفرة الموارد المائية ، فإن البنية التحتية السيئة أعاقت البلد غير الساحلي عن تحويل ميزته الطبيعية إلى مصدر مستقر للطاقة.

سبتمبر 2019

تعليق بناء محطة للطاقة الكهرومائية 750 ميجاوات في كافو جورج زامبيا

الطاقة المائية زامبيا

تم تعليق بناء محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية 750 ميجاوات في كافو جورج في زامبيا. شركة سينو هيدرو علقت المشروع بعد أن فشلت الحكومة الزامبية في دفع الشركة مقابل أعمال البناء.

نقص الطاقة في زامبيا

تواجه زامبيا ، مثلها مثل العديد من البلدان الأفريقية الأخرى ، نقصًا حادًا في الطاقة ، حيث لا يحصل سوى 25٪ من سكان الحضر و 3٪ من سكان الريف على الكهرباء. على الرغم من وفرة الموارد المائية ، فإن البنية التحتية السيئة أعاقت البلد غير الساحلي عن تحويل ميزته الطبيعية إلى مصدر مستقر للطاقة.

عند الاكتمال ، سيعالج المشروع الطلب المتزايد على الكهرباء في البلد والمناطق المحيطة به وسيخفف من العجز في الطاقة ، وبالتالي دعم التقدم الاقتصادي المستمر.

2020

اكتمل المصنع بنسبة 72٪.

2021

بدء تشغيل الوحدة الأولى لمحطة الطاقة الكهرومائية السفلى في كافو جورج في زامبيا ، والتي تبلغ قيمتها ملياري دولار أمريكي

تم تشغيل الوحدة الأولى لمحطة الطاقة الكهرومائية السفلى في كافو جورج في زامبيا. ترأس الرئيس الزامبي إدغار لونجو الحفل وقال إن محطة الطاقة ستعمل على زيادة إنتاج الكهرباء في البلاد.

"لقد شهد بلدنا ، على مر السنين ، زيادة في الطلب على الكهرباء لأنشطة الطاقة. تم تسجيل الطلب في قطاعات مثل التعليم ، والتعدين ، والخدمات الصحية ، والزراعة ، والسياحة ، والصناعات ، وفي الواقع منازلنا. استدعى هذا الطلب المتزايد على القوى استثمارات متسارعة في توليد الطاقة والبنية التحتية لنقلها. قال الرئيس لونغو: "ليس سراً أنه بين عامي 1977 و 2011 ، لم يكن الاستثمار في توليد الطاقة متناسبًا بشكل مباشر مع الزيادة في الطلب".

اقرأ أيضًا: يتم استثمار 500m دولار أمريكي في مشروع Ngonye Falls للطاقة الكهرومائية في زامبيا

فوائد المشروع

المشروع الذي تبلغ قيمته ملياري دولار أمريكي ، بتمويل من الحكومة الزامبية والمؤسسات المالية الأجنبية مثل بنك إكسيم الصيني، بدأت في عام 2015. حصلت شركة Sinohydro الصينية على عقد لتطوير المشروع. قال لي جي ، السفير الصيني في زامبيا ، إن محطة الطاقة كانت مشروعًا رئيسيًا في إطار منتدى حول التعاون بين الصين وأفريقيا (FOCAC) ومبادرة "الحزام والطريق".

ستنتج محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية 750 ميجاوات ومن المتوقع أن تزيد إمدادات الطاقة في زامبيا بنسبة 38٪ ، وهو ما يكفي لتلبية الطلب على الكهرباء في البلاد خلال السنوات الخمس إلى العشر القادمة. بصرف النظر عن زيادة إنتاج الكهرباء للبلاد ، فإن المشروع له أيضًا فوائد أخرى ، بما في ذلك خلق فرص العمل ، وإنشاء البنية التحتية ، ومحطة توليد الطاقة وموقع التفريغ لمشروع طريق تشيكانكاتا.

تواجه زامبيا ، مثلها مثل العديد من البلدان الأفريقية الأخرى ، نقصًا حادًا في الطاقة ، حيث لا يحصل سوى 25٪ من سكان الحضر و 3٪ من سكان الريف على الكهرباء. على الرغم من وفرة الموارد المائية ، فإن البنية التحتية السيئة أعاقت البلد غير الساحلي عن تحويل ميزته الطبيعية إلى مصدر مستقر للطاقة.

إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مزيد من المعلومات حول هذا المشروع. الوضع الحالي ، اتصالات فريق المشروع وما إلى ذلك من فضلك اتصل بنا

(لاحظ أن هذه خدمة متميزة)

اترك رد

الرجاء إدخال تعليقك!
الرجاء إدخال اسمك هنا

HomeBiggest projectsKafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Station, the third largest of its kind in...

Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Station, the third largest of its kind in Zambia

Vineyard Wind 1, the Largest Offsho...
Vineyard Wind 1, the Largest Offshore Wind Farm Project in the USA

Unit 5 or rather the last generator unit at the Kafue Gorge Lower power station is expected to be commissioned in November this year. This is according to Victor Mapani, the managing director at Zambia Electricity Supply Corporation (ZESCO) Limited.

Mr. Mapani made the revelation during ZESCO’s announcement that the country had achieved an electricity generation surplus of about 1,156 MW. According to the state-run corporation, the commissioning of the four by 150 megawatts capacity generator units at the Kafue Gorge Lower Power Station has resulted in increased power generation. ZESCO further explained that the national generation capacity currently stands at 3, 456.8 megawatts against a peak national demand of about 2,300 MW.

Possibility of trading the surplus 
Search for construction leads
  • Region/Country

  • Sector

Speaking during a high-level panel discussion at the ongoing Association of Power utility meeting in Dakar, Senegal, Mapani said the country could trade the electricity surplus within the interconnected power network in the southern African region.

Also Read: Plans in for Construction of First Quantum Copper Mines Solar-Wind Power Plants in Zambia

According to the ZESCO managing director, the availability of reliable electricity was underpinning the current rebound of the country’s economy. He further revealed that the power utility was undertaking the construction of transmission lines to ensure that it remains at the center of power trading in the region.

Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Station project overview

The Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Station is constructed on the Kafue River. The latter is in the Southern Chikankata district, approximately 90km away from the Capital Lusaka, in Zambia. The 750MW hydropower station is considered the third biggest hydropower station in the country. It is Zambia’s first major investment funded through a public-private partnership (PPP) model.

The hydroelectric project involves the construction of a 139 meters high concrete-face rockfill dam (CFRD). The dam has a crest width between 8 meters and 10 meters and a length of approximately 378 meters. There will also be a construction of a surface powerhouse. The latter has a width of 44.5 meters, a height of 58 meters, and a length of 127 meters. It will accommodate five 150MW generator units.

The Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Station is expected to have an environmental release outlet channel and a spillway on the left bank. It will have an overall width of 64 meters and a maximum discharge capacity of 6,210m³/s. The right bank is expected to have a flood release tunnel with a maximum capacity of 1,018m³/s and a 4.4km-long power tunnel. Furthermore, the dam is expected to have a floodgate with five 400 meters long penstocks. The left bank is also expected to feature a 980 meters long diversion tunnel with a horse-shoe cross-section of 10mx14m.

The transmission infrastructure, expectations, and funding for the project 

The power transmission infrastructure at the hydroelectric power station will include a 300V switchyard. The switch yard is expected to provide two outgoing transmission lines to a new and existing 330/132kV substation. In addition, the switchyard is expected to provide one short interconnector to the existing KGU power station and five incoming feeder bays.

Upon completion, the Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Station is expected to increase the power supply in Zambia by 38%. The energy generated by the facility is reportedly enough to meet Southern Africa’s country electricity demand for the next 5 to 10 years. Apart from increasing electricity output, the project is also expected to create employment, and boost infrastructure development. Furthermore, it will build a powerhouse and dump site for the Chikankata road project.

The US $2bn project is being funded by the government of Zambia and foreign financial institutions like the Exim Bank of China.

Also Read: Mambilla Hydropower Project timeline and all you need to know

Project Timeline

2015

In October, the engineering, procurement, and construction (EPC) contract for the project was awarded. Sinohydro Corporation, a Chinese company won the contract following which construction began.

Jan 2018

Pöyry awarded environmental impact assessment assignment for Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Project in Zambia, Africa

Zesco has awarded Pöyry with an Environmental Impact Assessment assignment for the Kafue Gorge Lower (KGL) Hydropower Project (HPP) in Zambia.

The 750 MW Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Project is part of the long-term solution to address the increasing gap between energy demand and supply in Zambia. The project is closely linked to the electricity development plans for the promotion of renewable energy in Zambia. The project is located in southern Zambia on the Kafue River, a primary tributary of the Zambezi River and about 60 km south of the capital Lusaka.

The scope of the assignment covers the undertaking of an Environmental and Social Impact Assessment (ESIA) study of the downstream areas of the KGL HPP site; incorporating the findings of the downstream study into the KGL HPP EISA as an addendum, and updating the Environmental and Social Management Plan (ESMP) for KGL HPP, and review and update the associated Transmission Lines ESIA and Resettlement and Compensation Action Plan (RCAP) to a bankable level.

“Delivering clean, renewable energy projects like this can aid economic growth and social progress and help alleviate poverty in developing countries. This project further strengthens Pöyry’s position as one of the world’s leading hydropower engineering consultancies” says Richard Pinnock, President of Pöyry’s Energy Business Group.

Also read: Pöyry Global maps out a small-scale hydro water project in West Africa

The value of the order is not disclosed. The order was recognized within the Energy Business Group order stock in H2 2017.

About Poyry

Pöyry is an international consulting and engineering company that delivers smart solutions across power generation, transmission & distribution, forest industry, chemicals & biorefining, mining & metals, transportation, and water. Pöyry’s net sales in 2016 were EUR 530 million. The company’s shares are quoted on Nasdaq Helsinki (POY1V). Approximately, Poyry has 5500 experts. 40 countries. 130 offices.

2019

Construction of the US $2bn hydroelectric power station was halted. This was due to financial difficulties.

Jan 2019

US $2bn Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower station nears completion

Batoka Gorge Hydroelectric power project in Zambia to begin this year

Construction of the US $2bn Kafue Gorge Lower Hydro-power Station in southern Zambia is soon to be complete. This is according to the Minister of Energy Mathew Nkhuwa.

The billion-dollar project started in 2015. It is funded by the Zambian government and foreign financial institutions such as the Exim Bank of China, and is being constructed by China’s Sinohydro Corporation.

Also read:Zambia, Zimbabwe signs US $5bn deal for Batoka Gorge hydro electricity project

Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Station

The Energy Minister expressed satisfaction with the quality of the work being done by the contractors. He said that 60% of the work is complete and Chinese contractors’ delivery time is competitive.

Mr. Nkhuwa also expressed satisfaction with the state-of-the-art technology applied to the construction, adding that the completion of the power plant will go a long way in helping the country become an electricity hub in the southern African region.

Upon completion set to take place in 2020, it is estimated that the Kafue Gorge Lower Hydro-power Station will produce 750MW and is expected to increase Zambia’s power supply by 38%, which is sufficient to meet the country’s electricity demand for the next 5 to 10 years.

Apart from increasing electricity output for the country, the project also has many other benefits, including creating employment, setting up infrastructure, and a powerhouse and dump site for Chikankata road project.

Zambia, like many other African countries, has been facing severe power shortages, where only 25% of its urban population and 3% of its rural population have access to electricity. Even though endowed with abundant water resources, poor infrastructure has hindered the landlocked country from turning its natural advantage into a stable energy source.

Sep 2019

Construction of 750MW hydropower station at Kafue Gorge Zambia suspended

hydro power zambia

Construction of the 750MW hydropower station at Kafue Gorge in Zambia has been suspended. Sino Hydro Corporation suspended the project after the Zambian government failed to pay the company for the construction work.

Power shortage in Zambia

Zambia, like many other African countries, has been facing severe power shortages, where only 25% of its urban population and 3% of its rural population have access to electricity. Even though endowed with abundant water resources, poor infrastructure has hindered the landlocked country from turning its natural advantage into a stable energy source.

When complete, the project will address the growing demand for electricity in the country and surrounding regions and will alleviate the power deficit, thus supporting continued economic progress.

2020

The plant reached 72% completion.

2021

First unit of the US $2bn Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Station in Zambia commissioned

The first unit of the Kafue Gorge Lower Hydropower Station in Zambia has been commissioned. Zambian President Edgar Lungu presided over the ceremony and said the power plant is set to increase electricity output for the country.

“Our country has, over the years, seen increased demand for electricity to power activities. Demand has been recorded in sectors such as education, mining, health services, agriculture, tourism, industries, and indeed our homes. This increased demand for powers necessitated accelerated investments in power generation and transmission infrastructure. It is no secret that between 1977 and 2011, power generation investment was not directly proportional to the increase in demand,” said President Lungu.

Also Read:US $500m to be invested in Ngonye Falls hydropower project in Zambia

Project benefits

The US $2bn project, funded by the Zambian government and foreign financial institutions such as the Exim Bank of China, began in 2015. China’s Sinohydro Corporation was awarded the contract to develop the project. Li Jie, Chinese Ambassador to Zambia said the power plant was a key project under within the framework of the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation (FOCAC) and the “Belt and Road” initiative.

The hydropower station will produce 750MW and is expected to increase Zambia’s power supply by 38%, which is sufficient to meet the country’s electricity demand for the next 5 to 10 years. Apart from increasing electricity output for the country, the project also has other benefits, including creating employment, setting up infrastructure, and a powerhouse and dump site for the Chikankata road project.

Zambia, like many other African countries, has been facing severe power shortages, where only 25% of its urban population and 3% of its rural population have access to electricity. Even though endowed with abundant water resources, poor infrastructure has hindered the landlocked country from turning its natural advantage into a stable energy source.

If you need more information on this project. Current status, project team contacts etc. Please contact us

(Note this is a premium service)

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here