الصفحة الرئيسية أكبر المشاريعمشروع طريق نيروبي مومباسا السريع بطول 525 كم بأربع حارات في كينيا

مشروع طريق نيروبي مومباسا السريع بطول 525 كم بأربع حارات في كينيا

تم منح عقد بناء طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع في كينيا شركة البنية التحتية الكورية لما وراء البحار والتنمية الحضرية - إفريقيا (KIND). استأجرت الدولة الواقعة في شرق إفريقيا KIND لبناء طريق سريع بطول 473 كيلومترًا بعد انسحاب المقاول الأمريكي Bechtel Corp من المشروع.

قدمت الشركة الكورية الجنوبية بالفعل دراسة جدوى للمشروع إلى الحكومة الكينية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فقد وافقت على تنفيذ مشروع الطريق السريع السريع على أساس نموذج أعمال رسوم المرور الذي رفضته بكتل مؤخرًا.

التداعيات بين كينيا والشركة الأمريكية
البحث عن يؤدي البناء
  • بلد المنطقة

  • قطاع

في أغسطس 2017 ، بكتل توقيع صفقة بقيمة 230 مليار شلن لمشروع طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع. وقد مهد هذا الطريق لحشد التمويل من وكالات ائتمان الصادرات في الولايات المتحدة. ومع ذلك ، تراجعت كينيا عن الصفقة بعد عام.

وبحسب ما ورد طلبت حكومة الدولة الواقعة في شرق إفريقيا من شركة Bechtel بناء الطريق السريع بأموالها الخاصة وتحصيل رسوم جمركية لاسترداد الاستثمار. من ناحية أخرى ، رفضت الشركة الأمريكية العرض. وقالت إن نموذج الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص (PPP) سيضخم تكلفة المشروع إلى حوالي 1.5 تريليون شلن.

وأوضحت الشركة أن هذا يرجع إلى أن العملية ستشمل اقتراضًا باهظًا ودفع فوائد. أصرت على نموذج العقد حيث تدفع كينيا لبناء الطريق السريع. كان من المتوقع في البداية أن تبلغ تكلفة المشروع 2.7 مليار دولار أمريكي.

ملخص مشروع طريق مومباسا نيروبي السريع

طول المشروع: 473 كم

مقاول المشروع: شركة البنية التحتية الكورية لما وراء البحار والتنمية الحضرية - إفريقيا (KIND

نموذج العمل: Toll Fee Road. مشروع PPP

عدد الممرات: 4 قابلة للتوسيع إلى 6

وقت السفر: 4 ساعات

ابدأ: من مشاكوس بدوره إلى ماريكاني

النهاية: المريكانى

طريق مومباسا - نيروبي السريع المعروف أيضًا باسم طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع أو طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع هو طريق سريع مقترح مكون من أربعة حارات في كينيا.

يبدأ الطريق من جيتارو على طول طريق نيروبي - ناكورو السريع الذي يبعد حوالي 24 كم شمال شرق نيروبي سي بي دي. يستمر في اتجاه جنوبي شرقي يقطع Ngong و Ongata Rongai و Kisaju و Isinya. وهي تنضم من جديد إلى طريق نيروبي - مومباسا الموجود شمال الطريق المقترح مدينة كونزا. يمر الطريق السريع عبر تسع مقاطعات لينتهي في مدينة مومباسا. ينتهي عند دوار Changamwe مما يجعله بطول 525 كيلومتر.

عند الانتهاء ، سيكون طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع قادرًا على دعم سرعات مرورية مستدامة تصل إلى 120 كيلومترًا في الساعة. وبالتالي ستخفض أوقات السفر بين نيروبي ، عاصمة كينيا وأكبر مدنها ، ومومباسا ، أكبر ميناء بحري في البلاد من 6 إلى 10 ساعات حاليًا إلى ما يقرب من أربع ساعات

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، سيتم التحكم في الوصول إلى الطريق. ومن المتوقع أن يؤدي ذلك إلى تحسين سلامة الطرق وتقليل التكاليف اللوجستية على طول ممر النقل بين مومباسا ونيروبي. علاوة على ذلك ، سيكون بمثابة "جزء مركزي من نظام النقل الوطني والإقليمي. وبالتالي فإنه سيساعد على تعزيز التجارة والتنمية في كينيا "والدول المجاورة الإقليمية. وتشمل هذه أوغندا ورواندا وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية وبوروندي وجنوب السودان.

ذكرت في وقت سابق

سبتمبر 2016

شركة بناء أمريكية تبدي اهتمامًا بتمويل طريق كينيا السريع الستة لين

http://constructionreviewonline.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=41963&action=edit
كينيا ثيكا طريق سريع. تم تعيين مشروع مماثل لطريق نيروبي مومباسا.

بناء كينيا ست حارات تحرك الطريق السريع بدرجة أعلى بعد الحكومتين الكينية والأمريكية وشركة إنشاءات وهندسة مقرها كاليفورنيا بكتل عقد اجتماع ناجح.

وقعت إليزابيث ليتلفيلد ، رئيسة مؤسسة الاستثمار الخاص لما وراء البحار التابعة للحكومة الأمريكية (أوبك) ، على ما أسموه خطاب اهتمام بخصوص الطريق السريع Six-Lane في كينيا وهو طريق نيروبي-مشروع الطريق السريع مومباسا على هامش منتدى الأعمال الأمريكي الإفريقي في نيويورك مطلع هذا الأسبوع.

تعد واحدة من أكبر شركات الهندسة والبناء في العالم التي شاركت حاليًا في المناقشة المالية ولديها إمكانية أكبر لإبرام الصفقة لأنها راسخة من حيث البناء باستخدام أحدث التقنيات.

في الوقت الحالي ، ألقى بنك التصدير والاستيراد الأمريكي بثقله وراء شركة بكتل للتأكد من أنها تؤمن الاستثمار للطريق السريع الذي يبلغ طوله 485 كيلومترًا.

ومن المتوقع أن يخفف المشروع المتوقع من وضع النقل بين ميناء مومباسا الرئيسي في كينيا والمدن في جميع أنحاء شرق إفريقيا.

من المتوقع أن يعزز المشروع أجندة الحكومة الحالية في تبسيط صناعة النقل التي تكافح حاليًا.

قال أندرو باترسون ، الرئيس الإقليمي لشركة بكتل في إفريقيا: "بدعم من الوكالات الحكومية الأمريكية مثل أوبك وبنك التصدير والاستيراد ، يمكننا تقديم حلول للمضي قدمًا بهذا المشروع المهم بسرعة مع معايير عالية من الجودة والسلامة".

يتزامن تحرك إدارة أوباما لمساعدة بكتل في تأمين صفقة لبناء الطريق مع افتتاح مكتب أوبيك في نيروبي.

سيسهل المقر الإقليمي الجديد للوكالة في العاصمة الكينية نيروبي مشاركة الشركات الأمريكية في تطوير البنية التحتية في جميع أنحاء شرق إفريقيا.

وأعلنت وزارة النقل عن المناقصة وسرعان ما تكلف الحكومة حوالي 14 مليون دولار.

أغسطس 2017

اختيرت Bechtel لبناء أول طريق سريع سريع في كينيا

بكتل تم اختياره من قبل هيئة الطرق السريعة الوطنية الكينية لبناء أول طريق سريع سريع في البلاد.

سيؤدي المسار الجديد البالغ طوله 294 ميلاً (473 كيلومترًا) إلى تحسين الاتصال والكفاءة والسلامة في النقل البري بين نيروبي والميناء البحري الرئيسي في البلاد ، مومباسا ، وسيقلل وقت الرحلة من أكثر من 10 ساعات إلى أقل من أربع ساعات.

اقرأ أيضًا: Aurecon تطلق خططًا جديدة للهندسة في إفريقيا

سيكون الطريق السريع بمثابة جزء مركزي من نظام النقل الوطني في كينيا ، مما يساعد على تعزيز التجارة والتنمية في كينيا وكذلك في أوغندا غير الساحلية ورواندا وبوروندي.

جودة المشروع وسلامته واستدامته

سيكمل هذا المشروع خط السكك الحديدية القياسي الجديد (SGR) لتحويل ممر 280-ميل (450- كيلومتر) نيروبي-مومباسا إلى منطقة اقتصادية نشطة ومستمرة.

قال كريج ألبرت ، رئيس شركة بكتل العالمية للبنية التحتية: "تعمل بكتل مع حكومة كينيا منذ أكثر من عامين لتطوير هذا المشروع الاستراتيجي ذي الأولوية للبنية التحتية ، والذي سيدعم إطلاق نمو كبير في كينيا والمنطقة". "سنجلب القدرة العالمية للمشروع العملاق والالتزام المحلي لتقديم طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع وفقًا لمعاييرنا العالية للجودة والسلامة والاستدامة. سننشئ إرثًا للبنية التحتية والمهارات من خلال الشراكة مع الشركات والموردين المحليين ، وتوظيف الكينيين وتدريبهم بشكل مباشر ".

اقرأ أيضًا: HVAC & Refrigeration Engineering تحتفل بالنجاح في إفريقيا

الطريق السريع عالي السرعة

سيكون الطريق السريع السريع أحد أهم أجزاء البنية التحتية الجديدة في مجموعة شرق إفريقيا. سيكون لها أربعة ممرات و 19 تقاطعات. سيصبح الطريق السريع طريقًا برسوم مرور وسيوفر عبورًا أسرع لدعم النمو والصناعة. كجزء من تسليم المشروع ، ستوظف بكتل أكثر من 4,000 شخص وتوفر التدريب وبناء القدرات. سيشمل المشروع أيضًا تخطيطًا رئيسيًا لثلاث مناطق اقتصادية خاصة على طول المحاذاة وسيركز على تطوير الأعمال بالتنسيق مع SGR الجديد والمجتمعات المحلية.

الحياة البرية والبيئة في كينيا أمران حاسمان للبلاد. سيحترم المشروع المجتمعات والبيئة والحياة البرية ، مع التركيز على تقليل التأثير المحتمل من خلال تنفيذ معيار دولي لتقييم الأثر البيئي والاجتماعي.

الهيكل الهندسي

تمت هيكلة المشروع لتحقيق الإنجاز المبكر ، في إطار نموذج تسليم سريع ، مع التصميم والبناء المتزامن ، ومع القسم الأول ، من طريق مومباسا - كيومفي إلى تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات كونزا ، المستهدف افتتاحه في عام 2019. سيبدأ البناء في 2018. من المتوقع أن تقدم وكالات ائتمان الصادرات الأمريكية والبريطانية ، مثل بنك التصدير والاستيراد الأمريكي ، ومؤسسة الاستثمار الخاص لما وراء البحار (OPIC) ، وتمويل الصادرات في المملكة المتحدة ، دعمًا ماليًا.

اقرأ أيضًا: BASF يضع مصنعًا موسعًا لتركيب اللدائن الهندسية حيز التشغيل

قال أمجد بانجاش ، المدير العام للبنية التحتية - أوروبا وإفريقيا والشرق الأوسط في شركة بكتل: "يُظهر هذا العقد استمرار ثقة المستثمر الدولي في الاقتصاد الكيني". "تمتلك Bechtel أكثر من 70 عامًا من الخبرة في بناء وإدارة مشاريع البنية التحتية في إفريقيا ويسعدنا العمل مع حكومة كينيا لتوفير هذا الطريق السريع المهم."

Bechtel هي شركة عالمية رائدة في تصميم وبناء الطرق السريعة. أكملت الشركة أكثر من 17,000 ميلا (28,000 كيلومترات) من الطرق السريعة والطرق وأنفاق 100 يبلغ مجموعها 220 ميلا (حوالي 350 كيلومترات) ومشروعات الجسر الرئيسية 25. تركز الشركة على توفير البنية التحتية الرئيسية للتواصل ومجتمعات الطاقة ، وتقوم الشركة حاليًا أيضًا بإنشاء طريق سريع يربط كوسوفو بمقدونيا المجاورة.

عن بشتل

بكتل هي واحدة من أكثر شركات الهندسة والبناء وإدارة المشاريع احتراما في العالم. جنبًا إلى جنب مع عملائهم ، يقدمون مشاريع بارزة تعزز التقدم والنمو الاقتصادي على المدى الطويل. منذ عام 1898 ، أكملوا أكثر من 25,000 مشروع استثنائي في 160 دولة في جميع القارات السبع. تعمل الشركة من خلال أربع شركات عالمية: البنية التحتية. النووية والأمنية والبيئية؛ النفط والغاز والكيماويات؛ والتعدين والمعادن. بُنيت الشركة وثقافتها على أكثر من قرن من الريادة والتزام لا هوادة فيه بقيمها ، والتي جوهرها السلامة والجودة والأخلاق والنزاهة. هذه القيم هي ما يؤمنون به وما يتوقعونه وما يقدمونه وما يعيشونه.

مارس 2015

إنشاء طريق سريع نيروبي مومباسا في يوليو 2018

بناء طريق نيروبي مومباسا السريع

من المقرر أن يبدأ بناء طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع الذي طال انتظاره في يوليو من هذا العام. تم منح المشروع إلى بكتل، مقاول هندسي أمريكي. عند الانتهاء ، من المتوقع أن يعود المشروع بفائدة كبيرة على الكينيين والبلد بأسره.

وصلت خطط إنشاء أول طريق سريع عالي السرعة في المنطقة إلى المراحل النهائية لتمهيد الطريق لبدء أعمال البناء الفعلية. طول الطريق السريع حوالي 473 كم.

ومع ذلك ، من المتوقع أن يكلف المشروع 3 مليارات دولار أمريكي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع سيقلل من وقت السفر بين المدينتين الكينيتين بنسبة تصل إلى 50٪. يقدر كبار مسؤولي Bechtel أن مشروع الطريق سيولد ما يقرب من ضعف الأموال التي يتم إنفاقها على المشروع خلال فترة 25 عامًا.

شراكة القطاعين العام والخاص

علاوة على ذلك ، تحتاج كينيا إلى نهج شراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص (PPP) لمشروع إنشاء الطرق ، بحيث بموجب هذا النموذج ، ستوفر الشركة التمويل وتبني الطريق ، ثم تقوم بتشغيله لعدد من السنوات التي ستفرض خلالها رسومًا على سائقي السيارات. لاستخدامه.

اقرأ أيضًا: اختيرت Bechtel لبناء أول طريق سريع سريع في كينيا

ومع ذلك ، تميل بكتل نحو نموذج EPC ، وتنصح بأن تكلف الشراكة البديلة بين القطاعين العام والخاص (PPP) خمسة أضعاف تكلفة 15 مليار دولار أمريكي وسيستغرق إكمالها الكثير من الوقت.

وفقًا لـ Transport CS James Macharia أثناء مثوله أمام لجنة النقل بالمجلس الوطني ، فإن الوزارة لم تستقر بعد على نموذج لتمويل الطريق ، ومع ذلك ، فإننا نفضل شراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص.

تأتي خطط طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع بعد فترة قصيرة من كشف كينيا عن خط السكك الحديدية المعياري القياسي الذي يهدف إلى التخلص من الطرق المزدحمة. علاوة على ذلك ، تأمل دولة شرق إفريقيا أن تساعد مشاريع البنية التحتية الضخمة الجارية حاليًا على فتح البلاد وتعزيز التجارة.

ملتزمة بدعم النمو الاقتصادي لأفريقيا ، افتتحت Bechtel مكتبًا إقليميًا في إفريقيا في نيروبي العام الماضي.

أبريل 2019

كينيا توقع صفقة لمشروع الطريق السريع نيروبي مومباسا 3bn دولار أمريكي

غانا تبدأ بناء Tamale Interchange

من المقرر أن توقع كينيا صفقة بقيمة 3 مليارات دولار أمريكي مع الولايات المتحدة لبناء طريق نيروبي - مومباسا السريع هذا الشهر. أعلن السفير الأمريكي في كينيا كايل مكارتر التقارير وقال إن الصفقة ستمهد الطريق لبدء أعمال البناء في أي وقت بعد يونيو.

يتضمن العقد تطوير ثلاث مناطق اقتصادية خاصة إضافية على طول المحاذاة بجانب التبادلات الاستراتيجية التي ستجلب إيرادات إضافية للحكومات الوطنية وحكومات المقاطعات.

بكتلفازت مجموعة شركات البناء الخاصة التي تتخذ من الولايات المتحدة مقرا لها بالعقد في صفقة بين حكومة وشكلت جزءا من مناقشات الرئيس أوورو كينياتا مع الرئيس دونالد ترامب خلال زيارته للولايات المتحدة العام الماضي.

اقرأ أيضًا: تعتزم زامبيا إطلاق طريق 95km Lilongwe- Kasiya-Santhe

الطريق السريع نيروبي مومباسا

سيبدأ بناء الطريق السريع الذي تبلغ مساحته 473 كم في مطار جومو كينياتا الدولي (JKIA) على طول الطريق السريع الحالي بين نيروبي ومومباسا ، وسوف يمر عبر سبع مقاطعات لينتهي عند دوار تشانغاموي في مومباسا.

سيتخطى المشروع المقترح العاصمة لتتفرع عن كونزا وتنتهي على طريق ناكورو السريع في كيكويو ، حسبما كشفت خرائط تصميم الطريق السريع.

الهيئة الوطنية للطرق السريعة في كينيا (KeNHA) أوضح المدير العام بيتر موندينيا أن الطريق سيكون به أربعة ممرات قادرة على دعم سرعات مستدامة تصل إلى 120 كيلومترًا في الساعة ، ومن المتوقع أن يقلل وقت السفر بين مومباسا ونيروبي من 10 إلى XNUMX ساعات حاليًا.

من المتوقع أن يولد تطوير الطرق ، الذي سيتم تشغيله بالتوازي مع طريق نيروبي مومباسا الحالي السريع والذي سيساعد في تعزيز التجارة والحركة في كينيا والبلدان المجاورة ، ما يقرب من ضعف الأموال التي تنفق على إنشائه على مدار سنوات 25 وسيكون جاهزًا استخدام من قبل 2023.

وقال بيتر موندينيا: "سيحسّن الطريق بشكل كبير الاتصال والكفاءة والسلامة على الطريق بين نيروبي وميناء مومباسا الرئيسي في البلاد".

من المتوقع أن يؤدي مشروع الطريق السريع إلى توفير وظائف 500 وسيشرك الشركات المحلية في توفير ما يصل إلى 100,000 طن من الأسمنت و 40,000 طن من الفولاذ المتوقع استخدامها على الطريق.

إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مزيد من المعلومات حول هذا المشروع. الوضع الحالي ، اتصالات فريق المشروع وما إلى ذلك من فضلك اتصل بنا

(لاحظ أن هذه خدمة متميزة)

تعليقات شنومكس

  1. بكتل هي شركة بناء طرق مشهورة في الولايات المتحدة. دعونا نأمل أن يبدأ العقد في أقرب وقت كما هو مخطط له

  2. تثير خطة الطريق السريع هذه المخاوف: فهي تبدو وكأنها "مشروع غرور" مكلف آخر. سوف تتنافس مع SGR لحركة مرور الشاحنات ، وربما تتحول إلى استثمارات سيئة.

    الخبر السار هو أن بكتل شركة هندسية موثوقة للغاية. على هذا النحو ، فإن الاحتمالية جيدة لمشروع "في الوقت المحدد وفي الميزانية". حظا سعيدا!

اترك رد

الرجاء إدخال تعليقك!
الرجاء إدخال اسمك هنا

HomeBiggest projectsThe 525km Four-Lane Toll Nairobi-Mombasa Expressway Project in Kenya

The 525km Four-Lane Toll Nairobi-Mombasa Expressway Project in Kenya

Vineyard Wind 1, the Largest Offsho...
Vineyard Wind 1, the Largest Offshore Wind Farm Project in the USA

The contract for the construction of the Nairobi-Mombasa Expressway in Kenya has been awarded to Korean Overseas Infrastructure and Urban Development Corporation Africa (KIND). KIND was hired by the East African country to build the 473-km expressway after US contractor Bechtel Corp pulled out of the project.

The South Korean company has already presented a feasibility study for the project to the Kenyan government. In addition, it has agreed to undertake the high-speed highway project on a toll fee business model that was recently rejected by Bechtel.

The fallout between Kenya and the US Company
Search for construction leads
  • Region/Country

  • Sector

In August 2017, Bechtel signed an Sh230 billion deal for the Nairobi-Mombasa Expressway project. This paved the way for the mobilization of financing from export credit agencies in the US. However, Kenya backtracked on the deal a year later.

The government of the East African country reportedly asked Bechtel to build the highway with its own money and charge toll fees to recover the investment. The American firm, on the other hand, declined the offer. It said that the Public Private Partnership (PPP) model would inflate the cost of the project to approximately Sh1.5 trillion.

This, the company explained, was because the process would involve expensive borrowing and interest payments. It insisted on a contract model where Kenya pays for the construction of the highway. The project was initially expected to cost US$ 2.7bn.

Mombasa Nairobi Expressway Project Summary

Project length: 473km

Project Contractor: Korean Overseas Infrastructure and Urban Development Corporation Africa (KIND

Business Model: Toll Fee Road. PPP Project

Number of lanes: 4 expandable to 6

Travel Time:4 hours

Start: From Machakos Turn-Off to Mariakani

End: Mariakani

The Mombasa–Nairobi Expressway also known as the Nairobi–Mombasa Expressway or the Nairobi–Mombasa Highway is a proposed four-lane toll highway in Kenya.

The road starts at Gitaru along the Nairobi–Nakuru Highway which is approx 24km northeast of Nairobi CBD.  It continues in a southeasterly direction cutting across Ngong, Ongata Rongai, Kisaju, and Isinya. It rejoins the existing Nairobi–Mombasa Road just north of the proposed Konza city. The highway passes through nine counties to end in the city of Mombasa. It ends at the Changamwe Roundabout making it 525 kilometers long.

Upon completion, the Nairobi–Mombasa Expressway will be capable of supporting sustained traffic speeds of up to 120 kilometers per hour. It will therefore cut travel times between Nairobi, the capital and largest city of Kenya, and Mombasa, the largest seaport of the country from the current 6 to 10 hours to approximately four hours

Additionally, the road will have controlled access. It is expected to improve roadway safety and reduce logistics costs along the Mombasa-Nairobi transportation corridor. Furthermore, it will serve as “a central part of the national and regional transport system. Thus it will help promote trade and development in Kenya” and the regional neighbors. These include Uganda, Rwanda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Burundi, and South Sudan.

Reported earlier

Sep 2016

US construction firm shows interest in funding Kenya’s Six-Lane highway

http://constructionreviewonline.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=41963&action=edit
Kenya Thika Superhighway. A similar project is set for Nairobi-Mombasa road.

Construction of Kenya’s six-lane highway moved a notch higher after the Kenyan and US governments and a California-based construction and engineering firm Bechtel held a successful meeting.

Head of the US government’s Overseas Private Investment Corporation (Opic) Elizabeth Littlefield and Bechel signed what they called a letter of interest regarding Kenya’s Six-Lane highway which is the Nairobi-Mombasa highway project on the sidelines of the US-Africa Business Forum in New York early this week.

The is one of the largest world’s largest engineering and construction companies that is have been currently involved in the financial discussion and they have a higher possibility of clinching the deal as they are well established in terms of construction using the latest technology.

Currently, the US Export-Import Bank has thrown its weight behind Bechtel to ensure that they secure investment for the 485-kilometer expressway.

The anticipated project is expected to ease up the transport situation between Kenya’s main port of Mombasa and cities throughout East Africa.

The project is expected to boost the current government’s agenda in streamlining the transport industry which is currently struggling.

“With the support of the US government agencies such as Opic and the Export-Import Bank, we can provide solutions to move this critical project forward quickly with a high standard of quality and safety,” said Andrew Patterson, Bechtel’s regional president for Africa.

The Obama administration’s move to help Bechtel secure a deal to build the road coincides with the opening in Nairobi of an Opic office.

The agency’s new regional headquarters in the Kenyan capital Nairobi will facilitate US businesses’ participation in infrastructure development throughout East Africa.

The ministry of transport announced the tender and is expedited to cost the government about 14 million dollars.

Aug 2017

Bechtel selected to build the first high-speed expressway in Kenya

Bechtel has been selected by the Kenyan National Highways Authority to build the first high-speed expressway in the country.

The new 294-mile (473-kilometer) route will greatly improve the connectivity, efficiency, and safety of road transport between Nairobi and the country’s main seaport, Mombasa, and will reduce the journey time from over 10 hours to under four hours.

Also read: Aurecon launches new plans for engineering in Africa

The expressway will serve as a central part of Kenya’s national transport system, helping to promote trade and development in Kenya and further into landlocked Uganda, Rwanda, and Burundi.

The project quality, safety and sustainability

This project will complement the new Standard Gauge Railway (SGR) to transform the 280-mile (450-kilometer) Nairobi-Mombasa corridor into an active and continuous economic zone.

“Bechtel has been working with the Government of Kenya for over two years to develop this strategic infrastructure priority project, which will support unlocking significant growth in Kenya and the region,” said Craig Albert, president of Bechtel’s global infrastructure business. “We will bring global megaproject capability and local commitment to deliver the Nairobi-Mombasa expressway to our high standards of quality, safety, and sustainability. We’ll create infrastructure and skills legacies by partnering with local companies, and suppliers, and directly employing and training Kenyans.”

Also read: HVAC & Refrigeration Engineering celebrates success in Africa

The high-speed expressway

The high-speed expressway will be one of the most important new pieces of infrastructure in the East African Community.  It will have four lanes and 19 interchanges. The expressway will become a toll road and will provide faster transit to support growth and industry. As part of the delivery of the project, Bechtel will employ over 4,000 people and provide training and capacity building. The project will also include master planning for three special economic zones along the alignment and will be focused on developing business in coordination with the new SGR and local communities.

Kenya’s wildlife and environment are critical to the country. The project will respect communities, the environment, and wildlife, focusing on reducing potential impact through the implementation of an international standard Environmental and Social Impact Assessment.

Engineering structure

The project has been structured to achieve early completion, under a fast-track delivery model, with concurrent design and construction, and with the first section, from Mombasa Road – Kyumvi to ICT Konza, targeted to open in 2019. The construction will start in 2018. US and UK export credit agencies such as the US Export-Import Bank, the Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC), and UK Export Finance, are expected to provide financing support.

Also read: BASF puts expanded compounding plant for engineering plastics into operation

“This contract shows continued international investor confidence in the Kenyan economy,” said Amjad Bangash, general manager for infrastructure – Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, Bechtel. “Bechtel has more than 70 years of experience building and project managing infrastructure projects in Africa and we are delighted to be working with the Government of Kenya to deliver this important expressway.”

Bechtel is a global leader in designing and constructing motorways. The company has completed more than 17,000 miles (28,000 kilometers) of highways and roads, 100 tunnels totaling some 220 miles (about 350 kilometers) in length, and 25 major bridge projects. Focused on delivering major infrastructure to connect and power communities, the company is also currently building a motorway connecting Kosovo to neighboring Macedonia.

ABOUT BECHTEL

Bechtel is one of the most respected global engineering, construction, and project management companies. Together with their customers, they deliver landmark projects that foster long-term progress and economic growth. Since 1898, they’ve completed more than 25,000 extraordinary projects across 160 countries on all seven continents. the company operates through four global businesses: Infrastructure; Nuclear, Security & Environmental; Oil, Gas & Chemicals; and Mining & Metals. The company and its culture are built on more than a century of leadership and a relentless adherence to its values, the core of which are safety, quality, ethics, and integrity. These values are what they believe, what they expect, what they deliver, and what they live.

March 2018

Construction of Nairobi-Mombasa expressway to kick off in July 2018

Construction of Nairobi-Mombasa expressway

The construction of the much anticipated Nairobi-Mombasa expressway is scheduled to kick off in July this year. The project is awarded to Bechtel, an American engineering contractor. On completion, the project is expected to be of great benefit to Kenyans and the whole country at large.

Plans for the region’s first high-speed motorway are in the final stages to pave way for actual construction work to start. The motorway measures about  473km.

The project is, however, expected to cost the US $3bn. Additionally, the Nairobi-Mombasa expressway will reduce travel time between the two Kenyan cities by up to 50%. Bechtel top officials estimate that the road project will generate nearly twice the money spent on the project over a period of 25 years.

Public-private partnership

Moreover, Kenya needs a public-private-partnership (PPP) approach to the road construction project, such that under this model, the firm will source financing and build the road, then operate it for a number of years during which it will charge motorists for its use.

Also read: Bechtel selected to build first high-speed expressway in Kenya

Nonetheless, Bechtel is inclined toward the EPC model, advising that the alternative public-private partnership (PPP) would cost five times more at US $15bn and it will take much time to complete.

According to Transport CS James Macharia during his appearance before the National Assembly Transport Committee, the ministry is yet to settle on a model of financing the road, however, we would prefer a public-private partnership.

Plans for the Nairobi-Mombasa expressway come shortly after Kenya unveiled the Standard Gauge railway line aimed at decongesting the busy road. Furthermore, the East African country hopes that the mega infrastructure projects currently ongoing will help open up the country and boost trade.

Committed to supporting Africa’s economic growth, Bechtel opened a regional Africa office in Nairobi last year.

April 2019

Kenya to sign deal for the US $3bn Nairobi-Mombasa expressway project

Ghana begins construction of Tamale Interchange

Kenya is set to sign the US $3bn deal with the USA for the construction of the Nairobi-Mombasa expressway this month. US Ambassador to Kenya Kyle McCarter announced the reports and said the deal will pave way for construction works to begin anytime after June.

The contract includes the development of three additional Special Economic Zones along the alignment next to strategic interchanges which will bring additional revenue to the national and county governments.

Bechtel, a US-based private construction conglomerate, won the contract in a government-to-government deal that formed part of President Uhuru Kenyatta’s discussions with President Donald Trump during his US visit last year.

Also Read:Zambia set to launch 95km Lilongwe- Kasiya-Santhe road

Nairobi-Mombasa expressway

Construction of the 473Km expressway will begin at the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) along the existing Nairobi-Mombasa highway and will snake through seven Counties to end at the Changamwe roundabout in Mombasa.

The proposed project will bypass the capital city to branch off just past Konza and terminate onto the Nakuru highway in Kikuyu, design maps of the high-speed road have revealed.

Kenya National Highways Authority (KeNHA) Director General Peter Mundinia explained that the road will have four lanes capable of supporting sustained speeds of up to 120 kilometers per hour and is expected to reduce travel time between Mombasa and Nairobi from the current 10 to four hours.

The road development which will also run parallel to the current Nairobi-Mombasa highway and will help promote trade and movement in Kenya and neighboring countries is expected to generate nearly twice the funds spent to build it over a period of 25 years and will be ready for use by 2023.

“The route will vastly improve the connectivity, efficiency, and safety of the road between Nairobi and the country’s main seaport of Mombasa,” said Peter Mundinia.

The expressway project is projected to create 500 jobs and will involve local businesses in supplying up to 100,000 tonnes of cement and 40,000 tonnes of steel expected to be used on the road.

If you need more information on this project. Current status, project team contacts etc. Please contact us

(Note this is a premium service)

3 COMMENTS

  1. Bechtel is a renowned road construction company in US. Lets hope that the contract starts soon as planned.

  2. This highway plan raises concerns: looks like another expensive “vanity project”. It will compete with SGR for truck traffic, possibly turning both into bad investments.

    The good news is that Bechtel is a very reliable engineering company. As such, the likelihood is good for an “on-time, on-budget” project. Good luck!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here