الصفحة الرئيسيةأكبر المشاريعنظرة على أكبر السدود في أفريقيا

نظرة على أكبر السدود في أفريقيا

يقوم الإنسان ببناء السدود منذ فجر الوقت للاحتفاظ بالمياه في الأنهار للري ولتلبية احتياجات المياه المنزلية. في الآونة الأخيرة ، أدت الحاجة الإضافية للطاقة إلى زيادة الحاجة إلى السدود لدفع النمو الصناعي والبيوت الخفيفة. مع ارتفاع عدد السكان ومحرك للتصنيع ، تعرضت أفريقيا لضغوط على الموارد ولم تكن الحاجة إلى المياه استثناءً. في إفريقيا ، حدد عدد حديث العهد عدد السدود في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى بما مجموعه 980 سدود كبيرة ، وحوالي 589 منها في جنوب إفريقيا ؛ من بينها أكبر السدود في أفريقيا.

شهدت قارة أفريقيا في العقد الماضي طفرة في بناء السدود الضخمة من أجل توفير المزيد من المياه المنظمة وتوليد الطاقة الكهرومائية. وتقع معظم هذه السدود على طول نهر النيل وتحديدا في إثيوبيا. يصبح اختيار إثيوبيا واضحًا جدًا عند دراسة المنطقة الجبلية في البلاد ووفرة الأنهار التي توفر مواقع مثالية لبناء السدود. لا يسمى البلد برج المياه في أفريقيا من دون سبب.

البحث عن يؤدي البناء
  • بلد المنطقة

  • قطاع

هل تريد مشاهدة مشاريع البناء في نيروبي فقط؟ انقر هنا

تشير التقديرات إلى أن إمكانات إثيوبيا لتسخير إمكاناتها المائية في 1٪ فقط في نهاية القرن ، وهذا يعني أنه سيكون هناك الكثير من السدود في المستقبل. قد يجادل البعض بأن البلاد من المقرر أن تصبح مركز القوة في أفريقيا. في هذه الأثناء ، تحت الإنشاء في إثيوبيا ، أكبر سد للطاقة الكهرومائية في إفريقيا وقد تم الانتهاء منه بالفعل وهو أكبر سد في أفريقيا.

أكبر سد في أفريقيا

يعد سد النهضة الإثيوبي الكبير (GERD) أكبر مشروع إثيوبي حتى الآن وبتكلفة تبلغ 6.4bn دولار أمريكي ، ويتميز بأنه أكبر سد في إفريقيا يولد 6000MW ضخم من الطاقة الكهربائية.

يقع السد على النيل الأزرق وبدأ الإنشاء في 2011. يستخدم السد الرئيسي الاسمنت المضغوط المضغوط (RCC) وهو مزيج من الخرسانة العادية والرماد المتطاير. لأن التكنولوجيا تستخدم كميات أقل من المياه ، فإن المزيج يكون أكثر جفافًا وليس له ركود. يتم تسليمها بواسطة شاحنة وتنتشر بواسطة الجرافات قبل ضغطها بواسطة بكرات اهتزازية.

عند اكتماله ، سيكون سد النهضة الإثيوبي أكبر سد في إفريقيا: بطول 1,800،155 متر وارتفاع 74,000 مترًا وبمساحة إجمالية تبلغ 15000،5 مليون متر مكعب. يبلغ طول السد 50 متر مكعب في الثانية وسد سرج صخري بطول XNUMX كيلومترات وارتفاع XNUMX مترًا.

ستكون قدرة توليد السدود من توربينات 16 Francis الموجودة في محطات توليد الطاقة 2 المتمركزة على أحد ضفتي النهر وتنتج 15000GWh في السنة.

سيكون السد قادرًا على التعامل مع فيضان 19,370 متر مكعب في الثانية ، وسيقلل من كمية الغرين في السودان بمقدار 100 مليون متر مكعب ، ويسهل أيضًا ري حوالي 500,000ha من الأراضي الزراعية الجديدة. سوف يقلل أيضًا من 40km من الفيضانات في السودان ، فور اكتمالها.

سد جيب الثالث

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن مشروع السد الجدير بالذكر الذي تم الانتهاء منه مؤخرًا هو سد جيلجيل جيب الثالث الواقع عبر أومو ريففر أيضًا في إثيوبيا. على ارتفاع 243m ، سيكون السد العالي RCC مع محطة توليد الطاقة الكهرومائية المرتبطة به بمجرد تشغيله بالكامل هو ثالث أكبر محطة كهرومائية في أفريقيا بطاقة إنتاج تبلغ حوالي 1870MW. يعد سد Gibe III كما يوحي الاسم جزءًا من سلسلة Gibe ويتوفر أيضًا على لوحة الرسم سدود Gibe IV المخططة (1472 MW) و Gibe V (560MW).

أطول سد مقوس في إفريقيا (سد تيكيزي)

لا يزال سد Tekezé في إثيوبيا عبارة عن سد قوس مزدوج الانحناء يقع على حدود منطقة Amhara و Tigray في إثيوبيا. يقع سد Tekezé على نهر Tekezé ، أحد روافد النيل الذي يتدفق عبر أحد أعمق الأخاديد في العالم ، وهو أكبر سد مقوس مزدوج الانحناء في إفريقيا. تحتوي المحطة على أربعة توربينات بقوة 188 ميغاواط تولد 75 ميغاواط من الكهرباء.

أكبر خزان من صنع الإنسان في العالم (سد كاريبا)

يقف سد كاريبا عند المدرجات 128 متر (420 قدم) وطول 579 (1,900 قدم). يشكل السد بحيرة كاريبا التي تمتد لمسافة 280 كيلومترًا (170 mi) ويحمل 185 كيلومتر مكعب (150,000,000 فدان) من المياه. اثنين من وجهات النظر من السد كما نرى من زيمبابوي.

بدأت خطط إعادة تأهيل السد في 2014 بعد أن نصح الخبراء بأنه يجب إصلاحه بعد ظهور تشققات على جدرانه. وكان الخبراء قد حذروا من أن أكبر بحيرة من صنع الإنسان في إفريقيا ، والتي يبلغ طولها 226 كيلومترات وفي بعض الأماكن 40 عرضها ، ستنهار إذا لم يتم القيام بأي شيء لإصلاحها.

تشمل أعمال إعادة التأهيل في المشروع: إعادة تشكيل حوض الغطس في اتجاه مجرى السد ، والذي بدأ في 2017 ، وإعادة تأهيل المجرى المائي. يتكون مجرى المياه من البوابات الستة في الجزء العلوي من جدار السد الخرساني الذي تقوم من خلاله ZRA بإطلاق المياه في حوض الغطس لإدارة مستويات المياه في الخزان.

سيضمن مشروع إعادة تأهيل سد كاريبا أن يكون السد قادرًا على العمل بكامل طاقته وفقًا للمعايير الدولية وأن قدرة توليد الطاقة المركبة من 1 830 MW.

سد مروي

المصب على نهر النيل منذ أقل من عقد من الزمان الانتهاء من سد مروي. يبلغ طول السد حوالي 9km وارتفاعه يصل إلى 67m. وهو يتألف من سدود مطحنة صخرية ملموسة على كل ضفة نهر. قدرة التوليد المخططة للسد هي 1250MW من توربينات 10 Francis لكل منها قدرة 125MW.

سد كاتسي

في جنوب إفريقيا ، أدت الحاجة إلى تخفيف أزمة المياه في جنوب إفريقيا إلى بناء سد كاتسي ، وهو سد مقوس خرساني على نهر ماليباماتسو في ليسوتو. السد هو ثاني أكبر سد مقوس مزدوج الانحناء في أفريقيا ، ويأتي في المرتبة الثانية بعد سد تيكيزه ، وهو جزء من مشروع ليسوتو المرتفعات للمياه ، والذي سيضم في النهاية خمسة سدود كبيرة في المناطق الريفية النائية.

يقع السد أسفل التقاء نهر بوكونج ، الذي يشكل الذراع الغربي لخزان كاتسي. تنتقل المياه من السد أولاً عبر نفق 45km ، 4m ، يخرج من محطة كهرومائية بالقرب من Muela. يسمح الارتفاع العالي للسد بتوصيل نظام تدفق الجاذبية إلى جنوب إفريقيا ، بالإضافة إلى الطاقة الكهرومائية في ليسوتو ، وكان السبب الرئيسي وراء اختيار الموقع.

إن مشاريع البنية التحتية الضخمة هذه وغيرها من المراحل المختلفة من التخطيط التي تعد بتحويل ملايين الأرواح في إفريقيا لم تأت دون إثارة جدل. تعرضت السدود لانتقادات شديدة في السنوات الأخيرة بسبب تأثيرها السلبي على البيئة الذي يتضح من نزوح المجتمعات وغمر مساحات شاسعة من الأراضي الصالحة للزراعة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أصبحت استدامتها موضع تساؤل في ضوء أنماط الطقس المتغيرة التي تجعل البلدان التي تعتمد على الطاقة المائية دون طاقة أثناء الجفاف بسبب الخزانات الفارغة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، في السنوات الأخيرة ، أدى النزاع حول موارد المياه إلى زيادة التهديد الحقيقي للحرب بين الأمم. وأبرز ما يجري بين إثيوبيا والدول المعتمدة على النيل في السودان ومصر الذين يرون أن سبل عيشهم مهددة باحتمالات انخفاض المياه في سهول الفيضان في النيل.

إذا كنت تعمل في مشروع وترغب في عرضه في مدونتنا. سنكون سعداء للقيام بذلك. من فضلك أرسل لنا الصور ومقال وصفي ل [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

دينيس أييمبا
دينيس أييمبا
محرر البلد / الميزات ، كينيا

تعليقات شنومكس

  1. هذا بحث سيء للغاية. هذه السدود صغيرة. لم يذكر الكاتب عن كاريبا ، التي تبلغ مساحتها 181 مليار متر مكعب ، وهي أكبر سد من حيث الحجم ، حتى أنها لم تذكر.

اترك رد

الرجاء إدخال تعليقك!
الرجاء إدخال اسمك هنا

HomeBiggest projectsA look at Africa's largest dams

A look at Africa’s largest dams

Man has been building dams since the dawn of time to retain water in rivers for irrigation and in order to meet domestic water needs. In more recent times the additional need for energy has further driven the need for dams to drive industrial growth and light homes. With rising population numbers and a drive for industrialization, Africa has come under pressure on resources and the need for water has not been an exception. In Africa a recent count put the number of dams in Sub-Saharan Africa at a total of 980 large dams with around 589 of them in South Africa; among them Africa’s largest dams.

The continent of Africa in the last decade has seen a resurgence in construction of massive dams in order to supply more regulated water and to generate hydroelectricity. Most of these dams have been located along the Nile and more specifically in Ethiopia. The choice of Ethiopia becomes all too obvious when you examine the countries mountainous region and abundance of rivers that offer ideal locations for dam construction. The country is not called Africa’s water tower for no reason.

Estimates put Ethiopia’s potential for harnessing its hydro potential at only 1% at the turn of the century and this means there will be a lot more dams to come in the future. Some would argue that the country is set to become Africa’s power house. In the meantime under construction in Ethiopia is Africa’s largest hydro-electric dam and already completed is Africa’s largest Arch Dam.

Africa’s largest dam

The Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam (GERD) is Ethiopians most massive project to date and at a cost of US $6.4bn have the distinction of being Africa’s largest dam generating a whopping 6000MW of electrical energy.

The dam is located on the Blue Nile and construction begun in 2011. The main dam utilizes roller compacted concrete (RCC) which is a blend of normal concrete and fly ash. Because the technology uses less water the mix is drier and has no slump. It is delivered by truck and spread out by bulldozers before being compacted by vibratory rollers.

On completion the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam will be the largest dam in Africa: 1,800m long, 155m high and with a total volume of 74,000 million m³.  The dam has a 15000 cubic metre per second spillway and a rockfill saddle dam 5km long and 50 metres high.

The dams generating capacity will be from 16 Francis turbines located in 2 power stations positioned one on either bank of the river producing 15000GWh per year.

The dam will be capable of handling a flood of 19,370 cubic metres per second, will reduce alluvium in Sudan by 100 million cubic metres and also facilitate irrigation of around 500,000ha of new agricultural lands. It will also reduce approximately 40km of flooding in Sudan, upon its completion.

Gibe III Dam

Another noteworthy dam project recently completed is the Gilgel Gibe III Dam located across the Omo Rivver also in Ethiopia. At a height of 243m, the high RCC dam with an associated hydroelectric power plant once fully commissioned will be the third largest hydroelectric plant in Africa with a power output of about 1870MW. The Gibe III dam as the name implies is part of the Gibe cascade and there is also on the drawing board the planned Gibe IV (1472 MW) and Gibe V (560MW) dams.

x
Top 10 Biggest Airports in the World
Africa’s tallest arch dam (Tekezé Dam)

Still in Ethiopia the Tekezé Dam is a double-curvature arch dam located on the border of Amhara and Tigray region of Ethiopia. Situated on the Tekezé River, a tributary of the Nile that flows through one of the deepest canyons in the world the 188m Tekezé Dam is Africa’s largest double-curvature arch dam. The powerhouse contains four 75 MW turbines generating 300MW of electricity.

The world’s biggest man-made reservoir (Kariba Dam)

Kariba dam stands at stands 128 metres (420 ft) tall and 579 metres (1,900 ft) long. The dam forms Lake Kariba which extends for 280 kilometres (170 mi) and holds 185 cubic kilometres (150,000,000 acre•ft) of water. Two views of the dam as seen from Zimbabwe.

Plans to rehabilitate the dam started in 2014 after experts advised that it should be repaired after cracks emerged on its walls. Experts had warned that Africa’s largest man-made lake, which measures 226 kilometers long and in some places 40 kilometers wide, would collapse if nothing was done to repair it.

Rehabilitation works on the project include; reshaping of the plunge pool downstream of the dam wall, which commenced in 2017, and the rehabilitation of the spillway. The spillway consists of the six gates in the upper part of the concrete dam wall through which the ZRA releases water into the plunge pool to manage the reservoir water levels.

The Kariba dam rehabilitation project will ensure the dam is able to operate at its full capacity to international standards and that the installed power generation capacity of 1 830 MW.

Merowe Dam

Downstream on the Nile less than a decade ago Sudan completed the Merowe Dam. The dam has a length of about 9km and a crest height of upto 67m. It consists of concrete-faced rockfill dams on each river bank. The planned generating capacity for the dam is 1250MW from 10 Francis turbines each having a capacity of 125MW.

Katse Dam

In Southern Africa the need to alleviate South Africa’s water crisis led to the construction of the Katse Dam, a concrete arch dam on the Malibamat’so River in Lesotho. The dam is Africa’s second largest double-curvature arch dam, second only to the Tekezé Dam and is part of the Lesotho Highlands Water Project, which will eventually include five large dams in remote rural areas.

The dam is just below the confluence of the Bokong River, which forms the western arm of the Katse reservoir. Water from the dam first travels through a 45km, 4m diameter tunnel, exiting at a hydroelectric station near Muela. The dam’s high elevation allows a gravity flow delivery system to South Africa, in addition to hydroelectric power for Lesotho, and was a prime reason behind the choice of site.

These massive infrastructure projects and others in various stages of planning that promise to transform millions of African lives have not come without generating controversy. Dams have come under heavy criticism in recent years because of their negative environmental impact that is illustrated by the displacement of communities and submerging large tracts of arable land. In addition their sustainability has come into question given changing weather patterns that render hydropower dependent countries without energy during droughts owing to empty reservoirs.

In addition in recent years conflict over water resources is raising the real threat of war between nations. The most notable being between Ethiopia and the Nile dependent countries of Sudan and Egypt who see their livelihoods threatened by the prospects of less water in the flood plains of the Nile.

If you have a remark or more information on this post please share with us in the comments section below

Dennis Ayemba
Country/ Features Editor, Kenya

2 COMMENTS

  1. This is so badly researched. These dams are small. The writer makes no mention of Kariba, at 181 billion m3, and by far the biggest dam by volume, does not even get a mention.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here