Mega housing projects to bring relief to South African residents

The Ekurhuleni Municipality in Pretoria-South Africa will over the next five years roll out six Mega Housing Projects in an effort to respond to the rampant human settlement build up within the city.

Also read:South Africa’s mega housing project boosts low income earners

Ekurhuleni Executive Mayor Mzwandile Masina said in the current financial year, the city will deliver approximately 5 000 housing units and an additional 8 000 housing units will be completed in the 2017/18 financial year.

He also added that the have secured and are in the process of securing more land to enable them provide bulk services consisting of water and sanitation systems for housing settlements like Leeuwpoort, Clayville Extension 156, John Dube and Daggafontein.

The city will also deliver fully subsidized units for the poor through the Finance Linked Subsidy Programme for people whose income is above the threshold for an RDP house but below qualification for a housing bond.

According to the mayor, the project has been launched for the middle income earners looking for rental stock and bonded units in Delville extension 9 and Chris Hani Village in Germiston with over 300 housing units completed and ready for occupation from the beginning of May 2017.

In an effort to provide decent living spaces, the city has further set aside $75m for the provision of serviced stands in the region. This will aid in achieving their target of 59 000 serviced stands during the current term of office. These stands will have bulk water and sanitation infrastructure, access roads among others.

Meanwhile, Ekurhuleni’s Member of the Mayoral Committee for Human Settlement, Lesiba Mpya, recently performed the neighborhood turning for the historical Leeuwpoort Housing Project, which will result in the building of 19 000 houses in the next five years.

The houses will benefit mainly desperate home seekers from Reiger Park, Boksburg and neighbouring informal settlements such as Joe Slovo, Ulana Park, Hlahane, Driefontein, Crossroads (Roodekop Ext 3), Vosloorus, Kalamazoo and Katlehong.