الصفحة الرئيسية أكبر المشاريعالمملكة العربية السعودية: تحديثات مشروع مدينة نيوم

المملكة العربية السعودية: تحديثات مشروع مدينة نيوم

ميامى امريكان دريم مول
ميامى امريكان دريم مول

منح مطورو مدينة نيوم عقود أعمال حفر وتفجير أنفاق لأحد أكبر مشاريع البنية التحتية للنقل والمرافق في العالم إلى مجموعتين من المشاريع المشتركة. 

تمت ترسية عقود المشروع الذي تم فصله عن طريق المناطق الجغرافية الدنيا والعليا بناء FCC/شركة ENginerring للإنشاءات الحكومية الصينية/شركة شبة الجزيرة للمقاولات مشروع مشترك (FCC / CSCEC / SAJCO JV) ، و شركة Samsung C & T/شركة هيونداي للهندسة والإنشاءات المحدودة/شركة اركيرودون السعودية مشروع مشترك (SHAJV). 

نطاق المشروع 
البحث عن يؤدي البناء
  • بلد المنطقة

  • قطاع

يعتبر عنصرًا مهمًا وأساسيًا في ضمان استمرار المشروع السعودي العملاق في تلبية الجدول الزمني المحدد للتطوير ، يستلزم المشروع بشكل أساسي أعمال حفر الأنفاق وتفجيرها لنفقين بطول 28 كيلومترا. وبحسب ما ورد ستتم معالجة الصخور المحفورة لإعادة استخدامها لاحقًا داخل البطانة الخرسانية الدائمة للأنفاق وغيرها من المشاريع داخل مدينة نيوم لضمان الحد الأدنى من التأثير على المناظر الطبيعية.

ستوفر الأعمال أنفاقًا منفصلة لخدمات السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة وشحنها مما سيساهم في ضمان أن تكون حركة البضائع والأشخاص آمنة ، وأسهل ، وأسرع.

الرئيس التنفيذي لنيوم ، ناضني النصر، ذكر أن نطاق المشروع الكبير وحجم أعمال (أعمال) حفر الأنفاق التي سيتم القيام بها هو دليل إضافي على تعقيد وطموح المشروع بشكل عام. كما أعرب عن أن الشركة تهدف إلى الحفاظ على تقدمها وهي تتجه نحو تحقيق رؤيتها لمستقبل جديد والتي وضعها ولي العهد ورئيس مجلس إدارة نيوم محمد بن سلمان. 

نظرة عامة على مشروع مدينة نيوم

مشروع مدينة نيوم هو مدينة عابرة للحدود مخطط لها في شمال غرب المملكة العربية السعودية ، منطقة تبوك. ويهدف إلى امتلاك تقنيات المدن الذكية والعمل أيضًا كوجهة سياحية. تقع المنطقة في الجزء الشمالي من البحر الأحمر وجنوب الأردن وإسرائيل وشرق مصر عبر مضيق تيران. وستغطي مساحة تقديرية 26,500 كيلومتر مربع تمتد 2 كيلومترًا على ساحل البحر الأحمر. تم الحصول على الأجزاء الرئيسية لتصميم مشروع نيوم من حدائق الخليج في سنغافورة.

تخطط المملكة العربية السعودية لإكمال المرحلة الأولى من مشروع مدينة نيوم بحلول عام 2025. وتقدر تكلفة المشروع بنحو 500 مليار دولار. كشفت المملكة العربية السعودية ، في 29 يناير 2019 ، عن تشكيلها شركة مساهمة مقفلة تسمى نيوم بقيمة 500 مليار دولار. كان هدف الشركة ، الذي حصل عليه بالكامل صندوق الاستثمارات العامة ، صندوق الثروة السيادية ، هو تطوير المنطقة الاقتصادية في نيوم.

يهدف التطوير إلى أن يتم تشغيله بالكامل بواسطة الطاقات المتجددة. انبثق المشروع عن رؤية المملكة 2030 ، وهي خطة تهدف إلى تقليل اعتماد المملكة العربية السعودية على النفط ، وتوسيع اقتصادها وتنمية قطاعات الخدمات العامة. يدعو المخطط الروبوتات لأداء واجبات مثل الخدمات اللوجستية والأمن وتقديم الرعاية والتوصيل إلى المنازل.

علاوة على ذلك ، تهدف المدينة إلى الحصول على الطاقة فقط من الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح. نظرًا لأن تصميم المدينة يبدأ من الصفر ، فقد تم اقتراح المزيد من ابتكارات البنية التحتية والتنقل. سيتم التخطيط والبناء بمبلغ 500 مليار دولار من صندوق الاستثمار العام في البلاد والمستثمرين الدوليين.

اقرأ أيضًا: الجدول الزمني لمشروع مزرعة الرياح البحرية في سانت بريوك.

الجدول الزمني للمشروع.

2017.
في أكتوبر ، كشف ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان عن المدينة في مؤتمر مبادرة مستقبل الاستثمار الذي عقد في الرياض بالمملكة العربية السعودية. وأضاف أنها ستعمل بمفردها ، بعيدًا عن "الإطار الحكومي الحالي" بقوانين العمل والضرائب الخاصة بها وأيضًا "نظام قضائي مستقل".

2018.
صرحت مصر أنها تساهم ببعض الأراضي لمشروع نيوم.

2020.

في يوليو ، الولايات المتحدة شركة منتجات الهواء والكيماويات كشفت أنها ستنشئ أكبر مصنع هيدروجين أخضر في العالم في المملكة العربية السعودية. وستمتلك إير برودكتس ونيوم وأكوا باور السعودية المشروع الذي تبلغ قيمته 5 مليارات دولار.

يناير 2021.

أصدر ولي العهد السعودي خططا لبناء مدينة خالية من الكربون في نيوم، وهو أول مشروع بناء كبير لمنطقة الأعمال الرئيسية التي تبلغ قيمتها 500 مليار دولار أمريكي والتي تهدف إلى تنويع اقتصاد أكبر دولة مصدرة للنفط في العالم.

وذكر الأمير محمد بن سلمان أن المدينة الخالية من الكربون والمعروفة باسم "الخط" ستمتد لمسافة تزيد عن 170 كيلومترًا وستكون قادرة على إيواء مليون ساكن في "مشاريع حضرية إيجابية الكربون مدعومة بنسبة 100٪ من الطاقة النظيفة". ثم واصل تقديم التقرير أن المشروع استغرق 3 سنوات في التحضير وستتكلف بنيته التحتية من 100 مليار دولار إلى 200 مليار دولار لتحقيقه.

وذكر أن "العمود الفقري للاستثمار في 'The Line' سيأتي من دعم بقيمة 500 مليار دولار لنيوم من قبل الحكومة السعودية وصندوق الاستثمارات العامة والمستثمرين المحليين والعالميين على مدى 10 سنوات ، صندوق الثروة السيادية للمملكة العربية السعودية ، صندوق الاستثمارات العامة ( PIF) ، هو المستثمر الرئيسي في نيوم ، وهو مشروع عالي التقنية على مساحة 26,500 كيلومتر مربع على البحر الأحمر مع عدة مناطق ، بما في ذلك المناطق الصناعية واللوجستية ، ومن المتوقع أن يكتمل البناء في عام 2025. وذكر تقرير سعودي رسمي أن سيبدأ البناء في الربع الأول من عام 2021 وأنه من المتوقع أن تساهم المدينة بمبلغ 48 مليار دولار أمريكي في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للمملكة وخلق 380,000 ألف فرصة عمل.

على مر التاريخ ، تم بناء المدن لحماية مواطنيها. بعد الثورة الصناعية ، أعطت المدن الآلات والسيارات والمصانع الأولوية على الناس. في المدن التي يُنظر إليها على أنها الأكثر تقدمًا في العالم ، يقضي الناس سنوات من حياتهم في التنقل. بحلول عام 2050 ، ستتضاعف فترات التنقل. بحلول عام 2050 ، سيتعين على مليار شخص الانتقال بسبب ارتفاع انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون ومستويات سطح البحر. 2٪ من الناس يتنفسون هواءً ملوثاً. لماذا يجب أن نضحي بالطبيعة من أجل التنمية؟ لماذا يموت سبعة ملايين شخص كل عام بسبب التلوث؟ لماذا نخسر مليون شخص كل عام بسبب حوادث السير؟ ولماذا يجب أن نقبل إضاعة سنوات من حياتنا في التنقل ". صرح ولي العهد.

المدينة الصناعية المقترحة في نيوم (OXAGON)

في نوفمبرأعلن ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان عن إطلاق مدينة نيوم الصناعية المعروفة باسم OXAGON والتي من المقرر أن تكون أكبر مجمع صناعي عائم في العالم بأسره.

يقع موقع "أوكساجون" على البحر الأحمر بالقرب من قناة السويس وجنوب الخط ، وسيشمل ميناء ضباء الحالي. ستنشئ أول نظام بيئي متكامل لسلسلة التوريد والموانئ في العالم لمدينة نيوم. سيتم توحيد مرفق تسليم الموانئ والخدمات اللوجستية والسكك الحديدية ، مما يوفر مستويات إنتاجية عالمية المستوى مع انبعاثات كربونية صافية صفرية ، مما يضع معايير عالمية في اعتماد التكنولوجيا والاستدامة البيئية.

ديسمبر ٢٠٢٠

نيوم و Volocopter، الشركة الرائدة في مجال النقل الجوي في المناطق الحضرية ، أسست شركة مشتركة (JV) لتصميم وتنفيذ وتشغيل أول نظام تنقل عام eVTOL (إقلاع وهبوط عمودي كهربائي) في المدينة المستقبلية.

وبموجب الاتفاقية ، من المتوقع أن تبدأ 15 طائرة من طراز فولوكوبتر عمليات الطيران الأولية في غضون 2-3 سنوات مقبلة. عشرة من أصل 15 سيخدمون الركاب بينما سيقوم الخمسة الباقون بنقل البضائع.

Arqit Quantum Inc. ("Arqit") و NEOM Tech and Digital Company (عبر شركتها التابعة ، شركة NEOM) دخلت في مذكرة تفاهم لبناء نظام أمان كمومي "المدينة المعرفية" قادر على الدفاع عن المدن المعرفية ضد الهجمات الإلكترونية من أجهزة الكمبيوتر الأكثر تقدمًا التي ستظهر في السنوات القادمة.

سيتم بناء النظام واختباره في مدينة نيوم خلال النصف الأول من عام 2022 ، وبعد ذلك يمكن تصديره إلى مدن معرفية أخرى حول العالم ، مما يوفر لمليارات المستخدمين وسيلة آمنة للغاية للمصادقة على جميع أشكال الأجهزة وتحديدها وتأمينها أثناء ضمان خصوصيتهم بالكامل.

هذا الشهر والسنة نفسهما ، Thyssenkrupp Uhde Chlorine Engineers و منتجات الهواء توقيع عقد لإنشاء مصنع للتحليل الكهربائي بقدرة 2 جيجاواط في منشأة إنتاج الهيدروجين الأخضر المخطط لها بقيمة 5 مليارات دولار أمريكي ، وهي الأكبر من نوعها في العالم ، في مجمع OXAGON المقترح.

وبموجب العقد ، ستقوم تيسينكروب بتصميم المصنع وشرائه وتصنيعه استنادًا إلى وحدة التحليل الكهربائي للمياه القلوية بقدرة 20 ميجاوات ، في ما يعد أول محلل كهربائي H2 أخضر في العالم بمقياس جيجا. سيقوم شركاء المشروع نيوم ، المطور أكوا باور آند إير برودكتس (مثل شركة نيوم جرين للهيدروجين) بتشغيل منشأة 2 جيجاوات عند التكليف بعد بدء الإنتاج المقرر في عام 2026.

مارس 2015

تبدأ المملكة العربية السعودية في البناء الفعلي لمصنع هيدروجين أخضر بقيمة 5 مليارات دولار أمريكي في مدينة نيوم

أعلنت حكومة المملكة العربية السعودية عن خطط لبدء البناء الفعلي لمحطة هيدروجين خضراء بقيمة 5 مليارات دولار أمريكي في مدينة نيوم في أقرب وقت من هذا الشهر ، بعد الانتهاء من تسوية موقع البناء.

أعلن هذا بشكل خاص من قبل بيتر تيريوم ، رئيس الطاقة والمياه للمنطقة المضيفة للمشروع الذي تم اختياره بسبب وفرة الرياح ، وفارغ الكاند ، وضوء الشمس. 

قال Terium أن بشكل عام ، فإن خطط البدء في بيع وتصدير الهيدروجين الخالي من الكربون في حوالي 4 سنوات (بحلول عام 2026) في الموعد المحدد. 

تنفيذ المشروع

يقود بناء مصنع الهيدروجين الأخضر في مدينة نيوم كونسورتيوم يضم أكوا باور إنترناشيونال وإير برودكتس. ستستخدم الشركات 120 محللًا كهربائيًا من نوع Thyssenkrupp AG.

يبلغ طول كل من أجهزة التحليل الكهربائي هذه 40 مترًا ، وسيتم استخدامها لفصل الهيدروجين عن الماء. عند المعالجة ، سيتم شحن الوقود من المصنع لأنه أسهل في نقل الأمونيا من الهيدروجين في حالته الغازية. 

عند الانتهاء ، و سيسهم مصنع الهيدروجين الأخضر في مدينة نيوم بشكل كبير في تحقيق طموح المملكة العربية السعودية لأن تصبح أكبر مصدر للهيدروجين وهو يعتبر تحولًا محوريًا إلى شكل من أشكال الطاقة أنظف. إنه أقل تلويثًا للبيئة من النفط لأن الوقود ينتج بخار الماء فقط عند الاحتراق ، مما يجعله بديلاً أفضل للفحم والغاز الطبيعي.

ومع ذلك ، لا تزال التكنولوجيا اللازمة لإنتاجه على نطاق واسع أو بالأحرى على نطاق تجاري غير متوفرة BloombergNEF، من المحتمل أن تبلغ قيمة السوق 700 مليار دولار أمريكي سنويًا بحلول عام 2050.

تم الكشف عن خطط مشروع تروجينا السياحي الضخم 

كشف رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة نيوم وولي العهد محمد بن سلمان عن مشروع تروجينا السياحي الضخم الذي سيقدم وجهة سياحية تتكون من سلسلة من المرافق بما في ذلك على سبيل المثال لا الحصر المنتجعات الصحية ومجموعة واسعة من متاجر البيع بالتجزئة وكذلك المطاعم وقرية تزلج ومنتجع عائلي فائق الفخامة ، تنتشر جميعها عبر ست مناطق هي ؛ اكتشف ، ووادي ، واسترخ ، وبوابة ، واستكشف ، واستمتع.   

بالإضافة إلى المرافق ذات المستوى العالمي ، سيوفر المشروع الذي من المقرر أن يكتمل بحلول عام 2026 ، الرياضات المائية والتزلج على الجليد وركوب الدراجات في الجبال ومحمية طبيعية تفاعلية وموسيقى وفنون ورياضة ومهرجانات ثقافية. 

تنفيذ مشروع تروجينا السياحي الضخم ليتماشى مع التزام نيوم بتقليل الاضطراب في البيئة المحلية

وفقًا لولي العهد ، ستلتزم جميع أنشطة البناء في مشروع Trojena Mega Tourism Project ، الذي يقع في وسط مدينة نيوم بحوالي 50 كيلومترًا من ساحل خليج العقبة ، بالتزام نيوم بتقليل الاضطراب في البيئة المحلية مع ضمان- الاستدامة مصطلح.

وأعرب محمد بن سلمان عن أن مشروع Trojena Mega Tourism سيعيد تعريف السياحة الجبلية للعالم من خلال إنشاء مكان يقوم على مبادئ السياحة البيئية ، مضيفًا أن المشروع يتماشى أيضًا مع الجهد العالمي لحماية البيئة.

توقعات للمشروع

من المتوقع أن يجذب المشروع أكثر من 7,000 مقيم دائم والمناطق السكنية المجاورة لها بحلول عام 2030. ومن المتوقع أيضًا أن يجذب أكثر من 700,000 زائر ، وإضافة ما يقرب من 800 مليون دولار أمريكي إلى الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للمملكة العربية السعودية بحلول عام 2030 ، وتوفير أكثر من 10,000 فرصة عمل. .

وأوضح رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة نيوم أن مشروع تروجينا العملاق للسياحة سيضمن أن السياحة الجبلية ستكون مصدرًا آخر للإيرادات لدعم التنويع الاقتصادي في المملكة العربية السعودية ، وفي الوقت نفسه ، لا تزال تحافظ على الموارد الطبيعية للبلاد للأجيال القادمة. 

Enowa تؤسس أول مركز سعودي للهيدروجين والابتكار

شركة نيوم للطاقة والمياه والهيدروجين إينوا كشفت عن خطط لإنشاء ما تم صياغته كأول مركز للهيدروجين والابتكار في المملكة العربية السعودية (HIDC). يُقال أيضًا أن المرفق هو أحد المستأجرين الأوائل لمدينة نيوم للابتكار والتصنيع ، أوكساغون.

يركز المشروع على تسريع تطوير الأعمال عبر طيف الهيدروجين وكذلك إنتاج واستخدام ونقل الوقود الأخضر. يهدف مركز الهيدروجين والابتكار أيضًا إلى زيادة حلول السوق.

اقرأ أيضا منح عقد تطوير داماك لاجونز ، المملكة العربية السعودية

بالإشارة إلى بيان صادر عن نيوم ، سيعمل مركز الهيدروجين والابتكار كأرض اختبار للتقنيات الجديدة الموجودة في صناعة الطاقة النظيفة. وستعمل أيضًا كمجتمع تعليمي تعاوني للمؤسسات البحثية التي تركز على اقتصاد الكربون الدائري (CCE) وكذلك الهيدروجين.

من خلال عمليات التعاون ، سيبحث المركز عن طرق يمكنه من خلالها التكيف وإنتاج أنواع وقود نظيفة وصناعية وخالية من الكربون بالشراكة مع أرامكو السعودية. يقال إن هذه المنشأة الجديدة لديها القدرة على تتبع هدف المملكة العربية السعودية في أن تصبح مركزًا عالميًا للطاقة النظيفة والابتكار.

من المقرر افتتاح مركز الهيدروجين والابتكار بحلول العام المقبل. ستجمع المنشأة جميع البيانات التشغيلية من أول محلل كهربي بقدرة 20 ميجاوات من تيسين كروب نوسيرا. المحلل الكهربائي هو أيضًا نفسه الذي سيتم استخدامه في أكبر مصنع في العالم للهيدروجين والأمونيا والذي تديره شركة Neom Green Hydrogen (NGHC).

ستساهم المنشأة أيضًا في خطط Enowa مع Air Products Qudra في اختبار الحلول المتقدمة للتنقل واللوجستيات القائمة على خلايا وقود الهيدروجين. أعرب الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Enowa ، بيتر تيريوم ، عن فخره بأن نيوم أصبحت واحدة من المسرعات العالمية لاقتصاد الهيدروجين ، وأضاف أيضًا أن طموحهم هو دفع تعزيز التنفيذ الاقتصادي لإمدادات الطاقة النظيفة المستقبلية بالإضافة إلى دفع وتشجيع الابتكار.

إذا كان لديك ملاحظة أو مزيد من المعلومات حول هذا المنشور ، فيرجى مشاركتنا في قسم التعليقات أدناه

شنومك كومنت

  1. أود الحصول على تفاصيل حول تكلفة محطة الطاقة الهيدروجينية المقترحة من نيوم وهل يمكن توليد الطاقة في أستراليا؟ يبدو أنه مشروع إيكولوجي مثير على وجه الخصوص منذ التهديد الذي تتعرض له الكهرباء النووية في أوكرانيا

اترك رد

الرجاء إدخال تعليقك!
الرجاء إدخال اسمك هنا

HomeBiggest projectsSaudi Arabia: Neom City Project Updates

Saudi Arabia: Neom City Project Updates

Miami American dream mall
Miami American dream mall

Drill and blast tunnelling works contracts for one of the largest transportation and utility infrastructure projects in the world have been awarded by NEOM City developers to two joint venture groups. 

The contracts for the project which is separated by lower and upper geographies were awarded to FCC Construction/China State Construction ENginerring Corporation/Shibh Al-Jazira Contracting Company Joint Venture (FCC/CSCEC/SAJCO JV), and Samsung C&T Corporation/Hyundai Engineering and Construction Co. Ltd/Saudi Archirodon Company Joint Venture (SHAJV). 

Scope of the project 
Search for construction leads
  • Region/Country

  • Sector

Considered a significant and essential element in ensuring that the Saudi megaproject continues to meet its set development schedule, the project mainly entails drilling and blast tunnelling works for two 28-kilometre-long tunnels. The excavated rock will reportedly be processed for subsequent reuse within the permanent concrete lining of the tunnels and other projects within the NEOM City to ensure minimal impact on natural landscapes.

The works will provide separate tunnels for high-speed and freight rail services which would contribute to ensuring that the movement of goods and people is safe, easier, and faster.

The CEO of NEOM, Nadhini Al-Nasr, stated that the project’s sheer scope and scale of the tunnelling work(s) that is to be undertaken is further proof of the complexity and ambition of the project in general. He further expressed that the company aims to maintain its progress as they move toward achieving its vision for a new future which has been established by the Crown Prince and Chairman of the NEOM board of directors, Mohammed bin Salman. 

Neom City Project overview

Neom City Project is a planned cross-border city in northwestern Saudi Arabia, Tabuk Province. It is aimed to have smart city technologies and also act as a tourist destination. The area is in the northern part of the Red Sea, south of Jordan and Israel, and east of Egypt across the Strait of Tiran. It will cover an estimated area of 26,500 km2 extending 460 km on the coast of the Red Sea. Key parts of the Neom project design were acquired from the Gardens by the Bay in Singapore.

Saudi Arabia plans to complete the first phase of the Neom City Project by 2025. The scheme is estimated to cost $500 billion. On January 29, 2019, Saudi Arabia revealed that it had formed a closed joint-stock company called Neom with $500 billion. The company’s aim, wholly acquired by the Public Investment Fund, the sovereign wealth fund, was to develop the economic zone of Neom.

The development is aimed to totally be powered by renewable energies. The project emerged from the country’s Vision 2030, a plan that aims to reduce Saudi Arabia’s dependence on oil, stretch its economy and grow public service sectors. The scheme calls for robots to perform duties such as logistics, security, caregiving, and home delivery.

Furthermore, aiming for the city to get powered solely by solar and wind power. Due to the city’s design construction starting from scratch, more infrastructure innovations and mobility have been suggested. Planning and construction will be done with $500 billion from the country’s Public Investment Fund and international investors.

Read also: The Saint Brieuc offshore wind farm project timeline.

Project Timeline.

2017.
In October, Saudi Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman revealed the city at the Future Investment Initiative conference held in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. He added it will operate on its own, away from the “existing governmental framework” with its own labour and tax laws and also an “autonomous judicial system.”

2018.
Egypt stated that it is contributing some land to the Neom scheme.

2020.

In July, the US’s Air Products & Chemicals Inc revealed that it will construct the world’s biggest green hydrogen plant in Saudi Arabia. The US$5 billion scheme will be owned jointly by Air Products, NEOM, and Saudi Arabia’s ACWA Power.

Jan 2021.

The crown prince of Saudi Arabia has released plans to construct a zero-carbon city at NEOM, the first major construction project for the US$ 500bn flagship business zone aimed at diversifying the economy of the world’s largest oil exporter.

Prince Mohammed bin Salman stated that the zero-carbon city known as “The Line” will extend over 170 km and would be able to house a million residents in “carbon-positive urban developments powered by 100% clean energy”. He then went on to give the report that the project took 3 years in preparation and its infrastructure would cost $100 billion to $200 billion to bring to reality.

He stated that “the backbone of investment in ‘The Line’ will come from the $500 billion support to NEOM by the Saudi government, PIF and local and global investors over 10 years,” The Saudi Kingdom’s sovereign wealth fund, the Public Investment Fund (PIF), is the main investor in NEOM, a 26,500-square-km high-tech development on the Red Sea with several zones, including an industrial and logistics areas, that is expected to complete construction in 2025. An official Saudi report stated that construction would start in the first quarter of 2021 and that the city was expected to contribute US$48 billion to the kingdom’s gross domestic product and create 380,000 jobs.

“Throughout history, cities were built to protect their citizens. After the Industrial Revolution, cities prioritized machines, cars, and factories over people. In cities that are viewed as the world’s most advanced, people spend years of their lives commuting. By 2050, commute durations will double. By 2050, one billion people will have to relocate due to rising CO2 emissions and sea levels. 90% of people breathe polluted air. Why should we sacrifice nature for the sake of development? Why should seven million people die every year because of pollution? Why should we lose one million people every year due to traffic accidents? And why should we accept wasting years of our lives commuting.” stated the Crown Prince.

Proposed NEOM’s industrial city (OXAGON)

In November, Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman announced the launch of NEOM’s industrial city known as the OXAGON and which is set to be the largest floating industrial complex in the entire world.

OXAGON will be located on the Red Sea close to the Suez Canal, and south of THE LINE, and it will include the current port of Duba. It will establish the world’s first fully-integrated port and supply chain ecosystem for NEOM City. The port, logistics, and rail delivery facility will be unified, providing world-class productivity levels with net-zero carbon emissions, setting global benchmarks in the adoption of technology and environmental sustainability.

December 2021

NEOM and Volocopter, the pioneer of urban air mobility, established a joint venture (JV) company to design, implement, and operate the world’s first bespoke public eVTOL (electric Vertical Take-Off and Landing) mobility system in the futuristic city.

Under the agreement, a total of 15 Volocopter aircraft are expected to commence initial flight operations within the next 2-3 years. Ten out of the 15 will serve passengers while the remaining five will transport goods.

Arqit Quantum Inc. (“Arqit”) and NEOM Tech and Digital Company (via its affiliate, NEOM Company) have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to build a ‘Cognitive City’ quantum security system capable of defending cognitive cities against cyber-attacks from the most advanced computers to emerge in coming years.

The system will be built and tested at NEOM city during the first half of 2022, after which it could be exported to other cognitive cities around the world, offering billions of users a highly secure means to authenticate, identify and secure all forms of devices while fully guaranteeing their privacy.

This same month and year, Thyssenkrupp Uhde Chlorine Engineers and Air Products signed a contract for the establishment of a 2GW-plus electrolysis plant at the planned US$ 5bn green hydrogen production facility, the largest of its kind in the world, in the proposed OXAGON complex.

Under the contract, Thyssenkrupp will engineer, procure and fabricate the plant based on its 20MW alkaline water electrolysis module, in what is set to be the world’s first giga-scale green H2 electrolyzer. Project partners Neom, developer ACWA Power and Air Products (as Neom Green Hydrogen Company) will operate the 2GW facility upon commissioning after a scheduled production starts in 2026.

March 2022

Saudia Arabia to start the actual construction of US$ 5bn Green Hydrogen Plant in Neom City

The Government of Saudia Arabia has announced plans to start the actual construction of a US$ 5bn Green Hydrogen Plant in Neom City as soon as this month, following the completion of the flattening of the construction site.

This was particularly announced by Peter Terium, the head of energy and water for the project’s host region which was chosen due to the abundance of wind, empty kand, and sunlight. 

Terium said that overall, the plans to start selling and exporting carbon-free hydrogen in about 4 years (by 2026) are on schedule. 

Implementation of the project

The construction of the Green Hydrogen Plant in Neom city is led by a consortium that includes, ACWA Power International and Air Products. The companies will make use of 120 Thyssenkrupp AG electrolyzers.

Each of these electrolyzers will be 40 meters long and will be used to split hydrogen from water. When processed, the fuel will be shipped from the plant since it is easier to transport Ammonia than hydrogen in its gaseous state. 

Upon completion, the Green Hydrogen Plant in Neom city will immensely contribute to Saudi Arabia’s ambition to become the biggest exporter of hydrogen which is considered to be a pivotal transition to a form of energy that is cleaner. It is less polluting to the environment than oil because the fuel only produces water vapour when burned, making it a better alternative to coal and natural gas.

Technology for producing it on a mass or rather a commercial scale is still not available, however, according to BloombergNEF, the market could potentially be worth US$ 700bn annually by 2050.

Plans for Trojena Mega Tourism Project revelled 

Chairman of the NEOM Company Board and Crown Prince, Mohammed bin Salman has revealed the Trojena Mega Tourism Project that will deliver a tourist destination consisting of a series of facilities including but not limited to wellness resorts, a broad spectrum of retail stores as well as restaurants, a ski village, and an ultra-luxury family resort, all spread across six districts namely; Discover, Valley, Relax, Gateway, Explore, and Fun.   

In addition to the world-class facilities, the project which is scheduled to be completed by 2026, will also offer watersports, ski sloping, mountain biking, an interactive nature reserve, music, art, sports, and cultural festivals. 

Implementation of Trojena Mega Tourism Project to conform to NEOM’s commitment to minimizing disruption to the local ecology

According to the Crown Prince, all construction activities of the Trojena Mega Tourism Project, which is located in the centre of NEOM approximately 50 kilometres from the Gulf of Aqaba coast, will adhere to NEOM’s commitment to minimizing disruption to the local ecology while ensuring long-term sustainability.

Mohammed bin Salman expressed that the Trojena Mega Tourism Project will redefine mountain tourism for the world through the creation of a place that is based on the principles of ecotourism adding that the project is also aligned with the global effort to protect the environment.

Expectations for the project

The project is expected to attract well over 7,000 permanent residents and its adjacent residential areas by 2030. It is also expected to attract over 700,000 visitors, add close to US$ 800M to Saudi Arabia’s GDP by the year 2030, and create more than 10,000 jobs.

The Chairman of the NEOM Company Boardexplined that the Trojena Mega Tourism Project will guarantee that mountain tourism will be another stream of revenue in supporting Saudi Arabia’s economic diversification, while at the same time, still preserving the country’s natural resources for future generations to come. 

Enowa to establish Saudi Arabia’s first Hydrogen and Innovation Centre

Neom energy’s water and hydrogen subsidiary Enowa has revealed plans to establish what has been coined as Saudi Arabia’s first Hydrogen and Innovation Centre (HIDC). The facility is also said to be one of the first tenants of the Neom innovation and manufacturing city, Oxagon.

The project is focused on accelerating business development across the spectrum of hydrogen as well as the production, utilization, and transport of green fuel. The Hydrogen and Innovation Centre also aims to increase lar to market solutions.

Read Also Damac Lagoons Development Contract Awarded, Saudi Arabia

Pointing reference to a statement made by NEOM, the Hydrogen and Innovation Centre will act as a testing ground for new(er) technologies that are present in the clean energy industry. It will also serve as a collaborative learning community for research institutions that are focused on the circular carbon economy (CCE) as well as hydrogen.

Through the collaborations, the centre will look for ways in which it can adapt and produce clean, synthetic, and decarbonized fuels in partnership with Saudi Aramco. This new facility is said to have the potential to fast-tracking Saudi Arabia’s goal of becoming a global hub of clean energy and innovation.

The Hydrogen and Innovation Centre is planned for opening by next year. The facility will gather all operational data from its first 20 megawatts electrolyzer from Thyssenkrupp Nucera. The electrolyzer is also the very same that will be used in what is the world’s largest green hydrogen and ammonia plant that is being by Neom Green Hydrogen Company (NGHC).

The facility will also contribute to Enowa’s plans with Air Products Qudra in testing advanced hydrogen fuel cell-based mobility and logistics solutions. CEO of Enowa, Peter Terium, expressed his pride in Neom becoming one of the global accelerators for the hydrogen economy, He also added that their ambition was to drive promote the economic implementation of future clean energy supplies as well as drive and encourage innovation.

If you have a remark or more information on this post please share with us in the comments section below

1 COMMENT

  1. I would like of details of the cost of the proposed Hydrogen Electric plant by Neom and could a power generation be feasible in Australia? It seems to be an exciting Eco project in particular since the threat to nuclear electricity in Ukrain

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here